Skip to main content
HeinOnline

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

The United States Congressional Serial Set is considered an essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the Serial Set includes House and Senate reports, documents, and more.

Browsing the Serial Set

Select the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from the HeinOnline welcome page to access all content in the database. The default landing page of the Serial Set directs users to the full list of Congress numbers available within the collection. 

Located on separate tabs, users will also notice Congressional Documents and Congressional Reports from the 114th-115th Congresses which are available in HeinOnline but have not yet been assigned a Serial Set citation. The American State Papers, which encompass the 1st through 25th Congresses, are also available.

 

After selecting a Congress number, users are directed to the complete list of volumes within the selected Congress. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Selecting a volume number within a Congress redirects users to a complete list of titles within the volume. "H" icons next to the volume indicate the availability of the document.

While searching or browsing the Serial Set in HeinOnline, colored icons appear next to various records. These icons indicate whether full-text coverage or indexing only is currently available for the material. 

 

Blue and Orange Icon: This icon indicates that this Serial Set volume has been digitized and is available within the HeinOnline database as well as the HathiTrust Digital Library.

 

 

Blue Icon: This icon indicates that this Serial Set volume has been digitized and is available within the HeinOnline database.

 

 

Partially Blue Icon: This icon indicates that this Serial Set volume is partially available within the HeinOnline database.

 

 

Orange Icon: This icon indicates that this Serial Set volume is available in HathiTrust Digital Library and will link to the specific Serial Set volume within the collection.

 

 

Red Icon: This icon indicates that this volume/document was assigned a serial number but it was not distributed or used.

 

 

Gray Icon: This icon indicates that this Serial Set volume is not yet available in HeinOnline or the HathiTrust Digital Library.