Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Subject Compilations of State Laws

Features more than 26,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Records contain annotations linking directly to articles & other documents residing in HeinOnline.

Searching

Comprehensive Searching

Using either the one-box search bar or the advanced search option, performs a comprehensive search across all SCSL print volumes, the SCSL Database, and Other Related Works. Like all HeinOnline searches, phrases should be contained in quotation marks and Boolean operators should be in all capital letters. 

Searching the SCSL Database

To refine your query and search only the bibliographic database for Subject Compilations of State Laws, select Search SCSL Database.

This database is fully searchable using metadata fields such as keywords, cases, court, entry number, and more! As performed in comprehensive searching, phrases should be contained in quotation marks and Boolean operators should be in all capital letters. Use the optional checkbox to display only results available in HeinOnline periodicals.

Key Words

Perform a topical search using the Keywords field. For example, search for “animal law”. This time, select Show only results for periodicals included in HeinOnlineResults will all be related to this search topic, and only entries with links to full-text articles in HeinOnline will be provided.Subject Compilations of State Laws

Subject Compilations of State Laws

Courts and Cases

In addition to standard search fields, such as article or journal title and article author, search for specific cases using the cases and court fields. Courts are indexed when a published court decision includes a 50-state survey or when a brief or petition for review includes a 50-state survey. For example, search for "New Jersey Superior Court".

NOTE: Case law is available in HeinOnline via our partnership with Fastcase. Click the case's citation to access the full text of state and federal cases without leaving HeinOnline!

Subject Compilations of State Laws

Subject Compilations of State Laws

 

It is also possible to search for case titles. Change the dropdown field to Cases, and enter "Renna v. County of Union" to retrieve the case entry and view its relationship to state regulations. 

Subject Compilations of State Laws

State Compilations of State Laws

Entry Number

To search for a record by the entry number assigned in the print version of Subject Compilation of State Laws, enter the number into the Entry Number field.

Subject Compilations of State Laws

Subject Compilations of State Laws

Searching Other Related Works

Select Search Other Related Works to search a subcollection within the database that contains links to more than 670 full-text documents within HeinOnline. For example, search "human trafficking" to find 70 links to titles relating to this topic.

Subject Compilations of State Laws