Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

World Treaty Library

This monumental collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one easy-to-use and fully searchable database.

Additional Resources

American Diplomacy - 1778 to the Present

This database, part of Yale Law School's Avalon Project, provides links to treaties from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

European Union Law

This libguide from UC Berkeley provides information on researching the European Union, with resources both specific to UC Berkeley libraries and resources found on the web.

FLARE Index to Treaties

From the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, the Flare Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties concluded from the 1600s onwards and a number of significant bilateral treaties signed between 1353 and 1815, with links to the full text, where available, providing a research tool aiding scholars and students, lawyers and librarians in researching the international law of treaties - whether they are new or experienced in the field.

Fundamentals of Treaty Research: U.S. and Non-U.S. (Electronic Resources)

This bibliographic guide presents online resources users may use to conduct treaty research for agreements to which the United States is and is not a party.

Guide to Treaty Research

This guide from Columbia University is intended to help legal researchers find treaties, with information on how to find treaty by topic and hyperlinked resources.

International Law: General Sources: Treaties

This section from NYU Law's International Law: General Sources libguide presents information on conducting research on treaties, conventions, and agreements.

International Law

This section of Princeton's Legal Research guide presents resources on researching international law, including treaties.

Introduction to Sources for Treaty Research

This guide, written by Mark Engsberg and Mary Beth Chappell at Emory University, presents a broad overview of the sources necessary or helpful to conduct treaty research.  It covers background and definitional issues.  It is not meant to be a "how to" guide, rather it provides a description of the tools necessary for researching both bilateral and multilateral treaties.  This guide mostly covers information for researching treaties to which the United States is a party, but it also includes information useful for researching treaties to which the United States is not a party. 

Treaties

This list from Harvard Law School presents a list of databases that can be used to conduct treaty research.

Treaties and International Agreements

This guide from George Washington University lists print and electronic resources for finding bilateral and multilateral treaties.

UN Human Rights Treaties: Travaux Preparatoires

This database from the University of Virginia School of Law presents fully-searchable, digital copies of travaux préparatoires, the drafting histories from the major post-World War II human rights treaties.

British Treaties

This official government website provides access to more than 8,000 official documents from the British government. Users are able to filter by topic, organization, and date.

Bundesgesetzblatt

The official federal law gazette of Germany, containing all federal laws, ordinances of major or permanent importance, orders and decrees of the President, and international agreements and treaties applicable in Germany.

Canadian Treaty Law Division

This page from the government of Canada provides a list of international agreements and treaties applicable in Canada. Users are able to search treaty text.

Collection of Agreements Concluded by European Union

From the official website of the European Union, users can search agreements concluded jointly by the Member States and the European Union, bilateral and multilateral agreements concluded by the European Union, and acts of bodies created by such international agreements.

EU Treaties

From the official website of the European Union, this chronological list presents the main treaties to which the European Union is party to.

Journal Official de la République Française

This archive presents the official federal gazette from 1881-1950.

Trade and Related Agreements Database (TARA)

From the U.S. Office of Trade Agreements Negotiation and Compliance, this database includes active, binding agreements between the United States and its trading partners covering manufactured products and services. It is designed to provide the public with information on agreements currently in force and does not include agriculture agreements.

Tratados Internacionales Celebrados por México

From the official website of the government of Mexico, this collection lists the bilateral and multilateral treaties entered into by Mexico and that are currently in force, covering the period from 1836 to date.

Treaty Documents (CONGRESS.GOV)

A list of legislative results pertaining to treaties from the official website of the U.S. Congress.

UK Treaties

This official government webpage provides guidance as to the work of the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office Treaty Section, including tools to search and locate treaty texts.

Basic Documents of International Law

This book from Oxford University Press draws together all of the most important documents needed for the study of international law. Collated by Ian Brownlie, a worldwide expert in the field, this book has provided students and practitioners with the most essential instruments giving a thorough grounding in this diverse and fascinating field of law. This sixth edition incorporates all key new documents within the field since the publication of the fifth edition in 2002, including the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court.

Customs Law & Administration: Treaties

This resource includes the full-text versions of more than 220 treaties between the United States and 85 other countries, along with 15 multilateral treaties to which the U.S. is a signatory. These agreements address the importation of goods into the U.S. and exportation of goods to foreign countries.

Handbook of Commercial Treaties, & C. , between Great Britain and Foreign Powers

This historical title from 1912 provides information on treaties between Great Britain and other countries.

Investment Promotion and Protection Treaties

This 15-volume work from Oxford University Press includes the texts of more than 1,400 bilateral investment treaties (BITs) concluded by over 165 countries from 1959 to the present. The collection also features alphabetical and chronological indices for easy reference to the treaties.

Manual on International Law and Arms Control Agreements

This title from Brill reproduces 84 documents, including arms control agreements, regional peace and security agreements, and forces reduction agreements, as well as 34 instruments controlling particular weapons.

Zimmerman's Research Guide - Treaties

Hosted on LexisNexis InfoPro, this authoritative guide provides resources for source identification and selection.