Getting Started
HeinOnline Specialist
Welcome Page
Search Box
From the Welcome Page, users can enter any query into the search box. A series of options will appear in a drop-down, allowing you to specify your search intent.
Just search for: Search the full text of documents for your keyword(s). Users can also use this option to enter custom HeinOnline syntax. [ex: author:(Fitzgerald)].
Citation: Search for a document or case citation.
Catalog: Search across the entire HeinOnline catalog record.
Author: Search for a section author name.
Title: Search section titles across HeinOnline documents.
From the Welcome Page, these search options will search all of your subscribed HeinOnline content by default. If you’d like to limit your search to specific databases, use the database selector within the search box.
Select the button to bring up HeinOnline’s multiple database selector tool. Check the boxes next to the names of the databases you’re interested in searching, then click Submit.
Video Tutorial: How to Search Across Multiple Databases
Search Help
If you need help constructing a search, select the Search Help option located under the main search bar.
This option will follow you through HeinOnline and provides a breakdown of search syntax with examples. It also provides a direct link to our Advanced Search Syntax Guide.
Database Listing
Subscribed databases can be found on your HeinOnline home page under two options. First, users can browse database by category.
For example, select International Resources to see a list of available databases that fall under that category.
Alternatively, users can browse databases by name. All databases are listed alphabetically with the exception of the Law Journal Library, as it is our most popular database.
Select the More Information icon next to any database name to see a general overview of the database content, including the ability to download a list of titles.
Access Options
The upper right-hand side of the page offers several access options. The live chat option appears in the lower left-hand corner.
These options include:
- MyHein: Access your MyHein profile or create a new one
- What's New: See what new content or features are available with direct links to our blog. Users can also see what new content has been added in the last month
- Help: Find links to a contact-us form, a feedback form, and various help resources
- Connect: See where you can connect with us on multiple social media platforms
- Account: Logout, change language, or switch to Section 508 compatibility