Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Foreign & International Law Resources Database

This database includes in-depth publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.

Browse

Part I: International Yearbook and Periodicals

Containing nearly 100 titles, browse through important international yearbooks and periodicals, including:

  • American Society of International Law Proceedings
  • Australian  Yearbook of International Law
  • Cambridge Yearbook of European Legal Studies
  • International Community Law Review
  • International Law Association, Reports of Conferences
  • League of Nations - Official Journal
  • Revue de Droit Uniforme/Uniform Law Review (New Series)
  • United Nations International Court of Justice Yearbook
  • United Nations Juridical Yearbook
  • United Nations Yearbook of the International Law Commission

Part II: Brill Publishers International Yearbooks and Periodicals

This subcollection contains valuable content from Brill Publishers, a leading voice in multiple aspects of international law, including:

  • African Yearbook of International Law
  • Baltic Yearbook of International Law
  • Chinese (Taiwan) Yearbook of International Law and Affairs
  • European Yearbook of Minority Issues
  • International Labour Law Reports
  • International Negotiation
  • Journal of International Peacekeeping
  • Max Planck Yearbook of United Nations Law
  • Hague Journal of Diplomacy
  • Religion & Human Rights: An International Journal

Part III: U.S. Law Digests

In this subcollection, users can browse through multiple-volume U.S. Law Digests, such as the Digest of United States Practice in International Law, updated regularly, which provides the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and international law. 

Part IV: International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions

In this subcollection, users can browse through nearly 40 titles of international tribunals and judicial decisions, including:

  • Arbitration and the Hague Court
  • Guide to the Mining Laws of the World
  • Hague Permanent Court of International Justice (Series A-F)
  • Permanent Court of International Justice: A Treatise
  • Reports of Decisions of the Mixed Arbitral Tribunals 
  • Reports of International Arbitral Awards 

Part V: Other Significant Works Related to Foreign & International Law

Browse the A-Z index of more than 800 titles of significant works related to foreign and international law. Users can also find the American Series of Foreign Penal Codes in this subcollection. Titles in this series provide accurate English translations of historic penal codes of foreign countries. Each volume includes an introduction by a knowledgeable scholar in the particular country’s penal system. Countries include Argentina, Colombia, 
France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Korea, Norway, Sweden, Turkey, and others.

Part VI: Court of Justice of the European Communities

This subcollection contains more than 500,000 pages and 10,000 cases of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, dating back to 1953. This is the most important court in Western Europe. It has decision-making power in all matters involving the existence and operation of the European Communities, and its jurisdiction in such matters extends to all member-countries. The Reports of this court, which began publication in 1954, are considered the official source of its judgments and other decisions.

Part VII: International Human Rights Law Institute

The International Human Rights Law Institute (IHRLI) is committed to protecting the human rights of all people on a global level and educating future legal professionals about the means and methods of doing so. IHRLI meets this commitment through the implementation of innovative human rights projects around the world and through the offering of a wide range of opportunities to study international human rights law, international criminal law, and international humanitarian law. Featured in this subcollection is M. Cherif Bassiouni, the founding member of the IHRLI. He is often referred to as "the Godfather of International Criminal Law" and known for his expertise in war crimes.

This  HeinOnline subcollection contains nearly 40 titles from this essential organization, including:

  • International Extradition: United States Law and Practice
  • International Instruments on Human Rights
  • Legal Terminology Glossary
  • Legal Terminology Glossary
  • Report on the Yugoslavia War Crimes Database Project
  • Testimonies: Iraq History Project