Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary and Historical Documents and Resources

This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, periodicals, classic books, and many more!

Browse the Database

Select World Constitutions Illustrated from the list of collections on the HeinOnline Welcome Page. From the landing page, browse the constitutions by country, search through thousands of constitutional books, browse all titles and periodicals, and check out the resources available through the bibliography, scholarly articles, and external links tabs.

World Constitutions Illustrated

Browse Constitutions By Country

Browse the database either by selecting a country from the drop-down box or selecting a country from the A-Z list on the landing page.World Constitutions Illustrated

For example, choose the United States of America. Users will be able to view different versions of the constitutions, its amendments and other related documents listed in a hierarchical format. Once a constitution or other document has been selected, use the Table of Contents at the left of the screen to locate specific sections.

World Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions Illustrated

To locate a specific word or phrase, use the magnifying glass located in the toolbar above the image of the page. For example, search This Title for the word "preamble."World Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions Illustrated

Browse Titles and Books

Included in this database are thousands of classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history by some of the greatest legal minds in history, such as:

  • Aristotle
  • Francis Bacon
  • Karl Marx
  • Thomas Paine
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Daniel Webster
  • Woodrow Wilson
  • And many more!

Browse titles and books in World Constitutions Illustrated using the A-Z index at the top of the page. Alternatively, users may browse by author, date, or subject within this subcollection.

World Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions Illustrated

 

View Hundreds of Subjects

Browse by subject and sort by either count or name. World Constitutions covers hundreds of subjects, including communism, slavery, African Americans, political ethics, Indigenous peoples, and many more!

World Constitutions Illustrated

Browse Periodicals

To view more than 40 legal periodicals related to constitutional law, select  Periodicals. Navigate to the periodical you would like to view and select the volume.

Popular periodicals include:

  • Historia Constitucional 
  • International Journal of Constitutional Law
  • Niles' National Register Review of Constitutional Studies
  • Seton Hall Constitution Journal
  • Bill of Rights Review
  • Constitutional Commentary
  • Constitutional Forum
  • East European Constitutional Review
  • First Amendment Law Review
  • And many more!

World Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions Illustrated

Browse Bibliography

The Bibliography section of this database lists numerous resources that are beneficial to constitutional research, but due to copyright and other restrictions are not available in HeinOnline. Select the ​OCLC number from the record to view the title’s WorldCat entry and find a nearby library that has the title available.World Constitutions IllustratedWorld Constitutions Illustrated

Browse Scholarly Articles

Select Scholarly Articles to view thousands of links to articles which have been carefully reviewed and chosen by our editors. Included are links to additional articles discussing the political and constitutional development of a country's constitutions.* When browsing Scholarly Articles you can sort by article title, author, and year while simultaneously searching for the article by title or author.

Additionally, select Most-Cited to sort by the number of times the article was cited by other articles in HeinOnline, the number of times the article was cited by cases, and the number of times the article was accessed by other HeinOnline users within a rolling 12-month period. For example, "The Boundaries of Private Property" has been cited by 223 articles, cited by 1 case, and accessed 63 times by other HeinOnline users within the past year.World Constitutions Illustrated

*You must be subscribed to the Law Journal Library to link to these articles.