U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library

Flare Index to Treaties

The Flare Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties concluded from the 1600s onwards and a number of significant bilateral treaties signed between 1353 and 1815, with links to the full text, where available.

Indian Affairs: Law and Treaties (compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler)

This historically significant, seven volume compilation contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

This digitized version is from Oklahoma State University.

Introduction to Sources for Treaty Research

This brief guide provides a broad overview of the sources necessary or helpful to conduct treaty research. It covers background and definitional issues. It is not meant to be a "how to" guide, rather it provides a description of the tools necessary for researching both bilateral and multilateral treaties. This guide mostly covers information for researching treaties to which the United States is a party, but it also includes information useful for researching treaties to which the United States is not a party.

This guide was written by Mark Engsberg and Kwanghyuk (David) Yoo, both at the Hugh F. MacMillan Law Library at Emory University School of Law.

Office of Treaty Affairs

The Office of Treaty Affairs provides advice and support on matters involving U.S. and international treaty law and practice.

Overview of Treaty Research (Webinar)

This webinar from the Library of Congress provides an introduction to resources and strategies to effectively research three distinct areas of treaty practice: U.S. bilateral treaties, foreign bilateral treaties, and multilateral treaties. 

Researching Treaties and International Agreements

This guide, created by the Law Library of Congress, provides resources for finding multilateral and bilateral treaties, as well as secondary sources related to treaties and international agreements.

Treaty Documents (CONGRESS.GOV)

Conduct treaty research through the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

Treaty Research

This research guide from Georgetown Law Library describes resources and methods for locating and updating treaties of the United States and other countries.

United States Income Tax Treaties - A to Z

The United States has tax treaties with a number of foreign countries. Under these treaties, residents (not necessarily citizens) of foreign countries are taxed at a reduced rate, or are exempt from U.S. taxes on certain items of income they receive from sources within the United States. 

This page from the IRS provides links to tax treaties between the United States and particular countries.