Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

U.S. Presidential Library

This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, and a host of other works relating to the U.S. presidency.

The U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library

Browsing the U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library - NEW!

Organized around the four presidents affected so far, this collection brings together a variety of documents both contemporaneous and asynchronous to each president's impeachment, presenting both a snapshot of the political climate as each played out and the long view history has taken of past proceedings. Congressional Research Service reports round out a general discussion of presidential impeachment, and a curated list of scholarly articles, external links, and bibliography provide avenues for further research on this topic. We are especially pleased to include the ever-growing resource Whistleblower Complaint on Ukrainecompiled by Kelly Smith at UC San Diego, which brings together official documents related to the whistleblower complaint and impeachment inquiry of Donald Trump. This library will continue to grow as we add new material, particularly as it becomes available for the investigation into Donald Trump. 

Users can find this timely collection by simply clicking the Impeachment tab from any page within the database. 

 

From the U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library homepage, users then have the option to browse by president, search scholarly articles, peruse the bibliography, view other related works, and continue researching with our suggested external links. 

Upon entering the Donald Trump portion of the U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library, users can find the Whistleblower Complaint on Ukraine. Either browse the documents or use the conveniently located search bar to research specific words or phrases.

The whistleblower complaint that is the center of the impeachment inquiry also alleged that Trump's personal lawyer, Rudy Giuliani, led a cover-up of the Ukraine scandal. Enter "Rudy Giuliani" into the search bar provided for the whistleblower documents to bring up 15 results. To see any time Rudy Giuliani's name was mentioned, simply click All Matching Text Pages.

Alternatively, users can search while browsing through a specific document by utilizing the magnifying glass icon. For example, click on Trump Telephone Conversation with Zelensky (Declassified and Released 9/24/19). Next, click on the magnifying glass icon found above the document. To see when a member of the Biden family was mentioned, for example, simply enter "Biden" into the search box and click This Section

Results show one page where Biden's name is mentioned in this document. Click on Turn to page 4 to view the result. ‚Äč

Congressional Documents: Impeachment

Part of Bowdoin Library's research guide on Congressional Documents, this section focuses on the process of impeaching a President and materials that document the presidential impeachments and trials that have occurred in American history.

How Many US Presidents Have Faced Impeachment?

This article from HISTORY presents an overview of the Constitutional origins of impeachment and a summary of the four presidents affected by impeachment.

Impeachment

From the History, Art & Archives of the United States House of Representatives, this article explains the House's role in the impeachment process.

Impeachment

This article from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia,  explains impeachment as it exists in the political processes of various countries around the world.

Impeachment Resource Guide: U.S. Constitution & Congress

This resource guide from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law Library presents resources complimenting the College's "Impeachment Discussion Series."

Public Document Clearinghouse: Ukraine Impeachment Inquiry

This collection compiles all publicly available documents related to Congress's first impeachment and trial of Donald J. Trump, including relevant legislation, trial materials, letters, subpoenas, deposition and witness transcripts, executive branch communications, and litigation documents.

Just Security is an online forum for the rigorous analysis of U.S. national security law and policy. It is based at the Reiss Center on Law and Security at New York University School of Law.

Slow Burn: The Clinton Impeachment

The second season of the wildly popular podcast breaks down the Clinton impeachment, offering a fresh reexamination of the choices, circumstances, and manipulations that nearly destroyed the 42nd president and forever changed the life of a former White House intern.

Slow Burn is a production of Slate, a daily magazine on the web and podcast network. Founded in 1996, Slate is a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture.

Slow Burn: Watergate

You think you know the story, or maybe you don’t. But Watergate was stranger, wilder, and more exciting than you can imagine. What did it feel like to live through the scandal that brought down President Nixon? Find out in the first season of Slow Burn, hosted by Leon Neyfakh.

Slow Burn is a production of Slate, a daily magazine on the web and podcast network. Founded in 1996, Slate is a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture.

The Constitution Annotated - Impeachment Clauses

This post from the blog for the Library of Congress announces updates to the Library's Constitution Annotated essays pertaining to impeachment and how they have been incorporated in the annotations to Article I, Article II, and Article III of the Constitution.

U.S. Senate: Impeachment

This page from the United States Senate explains the Senate's role in the impeachment process, its authority, process, and rules.