Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

National Survey of State Laws

This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States.

Searching

Searching in NSSL

The one-box search bar and the Advanced Search link located beneath the search bar will search the National Survey of State Laws database. Search using several available metadata fields, including:

  • Keywords
  • Topic
  • Code section
  • State
  • Edition

Search results can be sorted by:

  • Relevance
  • Date
  • Title

Results can then be refined into specific categories, laws, states, and editions using the facets on the left side of the screen. Matching search terms will appear bold.

Clicking any search result will pull in a portion of the chart that pertains to the result. To quickly compare laws between states, select additional states from the State Filter box and click Reapply State Filter.

To see whether or how a law has changed since the previous edition of National Survey of State Laws, click View Previous, which will expand the chart to include information from available previous editions.

Note that the current edition and the three most recent previous editions are available in database format. Using the Advanced Search link will search the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th editions.

Print Editions Online

The HeinOnline National Survey of State Laws collection also includes all previous print editions of this valuable title. Although only the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th editions have been converted into database format, all other prior editions are fully searchable and browsable in HeinOnline’s familiar image-based PDF format. 

To access all print editions of the National Survey of State Laws, click Browse Print Editions from the upper right side of the collection homepage. 

This will expand all editions and enable users to search within all volumes, create eTOC alerts for the title, and set up an RSS feed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The print editions can also be searched using the NSSL Print Ed. Search link, located beneath the main search bar at the top of the page. This will open search fields that will enable users to search the indexed metadata and full text of all print editions.