Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)

A weekly subject-categorized index to the most recent issues of nearly 650 legal publications.

Using the Publication

Accessing CILP
CILP Subject Headings

How to Access CILP in HeinOnline

Electronic subscribers to the publication receive the full text of the most recent CILP issue on most Mondays of the year. Subscribers may download the CILP issue in various file formats directly in the HeinOnline interface. The files are available in a dedicated database, along with the entire archive of CILP issues.

File Formats Available:

PDF
Word
ASCII Text
HTML Subject List
HTML Table of Contents

Upon navigating to the HeinOnline welcome page, subscribed users will see Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) as a database available within their subscription.

undefined

The landing page of the database presents subscribers with current and previous issues of the publication. In addition to the various file formats, the database also includes access to the full archive of CILP, dating back to its inception in 1936, and a button to create a SmartCILP profile.

undefined

CILP Subject Headings

All content in Current Index to Legal Periodicals has been assigned one or more subjects, meticulously maintained and defined by the editors of the publication. The 104 subjects can be found below.

Administrative Law	Education Law	Jurisprudence	Religion
Admiralty	Elder Law	Juveniles	Remedies
Agriculture Law	Elections and Voting	Labor Law	Reproduction
Air and Space Law	Employment Practice	Land Use	Retirement Security
Animal Law	Energy and Utilities Law	Law and Society	Science and Technology
Arts and Entertainment	Environmental Law	Law Enforcement	Second Amendment
Banking and Finance	Estates and Trusts	Law of the Sea	Secured Transactions
Bankruptcy Law	Evidence	Legal Analysis and Writing	Securities Law
Biography	First Amendment	Legal Education	Sentencing and Punishment
Business Organizations	Food and Drug Law	Legal History	Sex Crimes
Civil Law	Fourteenth Amendment	Legal Profession	Sexual Orientation
Civil Rights, Generally	Gaming	Legal Research and Libraries	Social Welfare
Commercial Law	Gender	Legislation	Sports
Communications Law	Government Contracts	Medical Jurisprudence	State and Local Government Law
Comparative and Foreign Law	Health Law and Policy	Military, War, and Peace	Supreme Court of the United States
Conflict of Laws	Housing Law	Motor Vehicles	Tax Policy
Constitutional Law, Generally	Human Rights Law	Natural Resources Law	Taxation—Federal
Consumer Protection Law	Immigration Law	Nonprofit Organizations	Taxation—Federal Estate and Gift
Contracts	Indigenous Law	Oil, Gas, and Mineral Law	Taxation—State and Local
Courts	Information Privacy	Politics	Taxation—Transnational
Criminal Law and Procedure	Insurance Law	Practice and Procedure	Terrorism
Disability Law	Intellectual Property Law	President/Executive Department	Torts
Disaster Law	International Law	Professional Ethics	Trade Regulation
Dispute Resolution	International Trade	Property—Personal and Real	Transportation Law
Domestic Relations	Judges	Psychology and Psychiatry	Water Law
Economics	Jurisdiction	Race and Ethnicity	Workers' Compensation Law

Many of these subjects have been further categorized into topics (or groups) for easy selection when creating a SmartCILP profile. View the full list of groups here.