Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary and Historical Documents and Resources

This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, periodicals, classic books, and many more!

Featured Works

Annual Human Rights Reports Submitted to Congress by the U.S. Department of State (1976-current) (Human Rights and the Helsinki Accords and the United States – Series 1)

The Annual Human Rights Reports Submitted to Congress by the U.S. Department of State are submitted in compliance with sections 116(d) and 502B(b) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961, as amended, and section 504 of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended. The law provides that the Secretary of State shall transmit to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Foreign Relations of the Senate, “a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights ... (A) in countries that receive assistance under this part, and (B) in all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations and which are not otherwise the subject of a human rights report under this Act.” Reports are also included on several countries that are not covered by the congressional requirement. These reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Country Studies

The Country Studies are a series of books published by the Federal Research Division of the U.S. Library of Congress. Each book pertains to a specific country and contains a description and an analysis of its historical setting and social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions, and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by both historical and cultural factors. Each study was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists and thus represents the analysis of those authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official United States Government position, policy or decision.

British and Foreign State Papers (1812-1968)

World Constitutions Illustrated features the complete set of British and Foreign State Papers, one of the greatest collections of legal and political documents ever published. It is an invaluable resource for those researching constitutional law, international treaties, and international relations. It includes principal documents relating to the political and commercial affairs of nations and their relations with each other since the end of the War in 1814. It also contains texts of international treaties, constitutions, and other diplomatic documents such as statements, speeches, declarations, protocols, and communications that are relevant for international relations and practicing international law.

Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia

The Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia comprises introductions to the major legal systems in the world, with coverage ranging from legal education and the way of professional practice to the form of government and substantive law. This compilation is a result of the efforts of Kenneth Robert Redden, who was a Professor of Law at the University of Virginia for four decades. Professor Redden, later assisted by Linda L. Schleuter, gathered information from hundreds of distinguished contributors from all over the globe in order to present this multi-volume encyclopedia. This work serves as a standard reference work for members of the legal profession in every country and is also used as a reference work in law schools and other university disciplines.

World Factbook (1981-current)

The World Factbook is prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency for the use of U.S. Government officials. Presented in almanac form, it includes information about the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 independent states, dependencies, areas of special sovereignty, and governments from around the world. HeinOnline’s coverage begins in 1981 and continues through the most recently published edition.