Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

American Law Institute Library

A digital collection that provides easy access to invaluable American Law Institute projects and documents that have influenced modern law and society.

Overview

American Law Institute Library

HeinOnline’s American Law Institute Library is a digital collection that provides easy access to invaluable American Law Institute projects and documents that have influenced modern law and society.

The American Law Institute (ALI) is the leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law. The Institute is made up of lawyers, judges, and law professors of the highest qualifications. It drafts, discusses, revises, and publishes Restatements of the Law, model statutes, and Principles of the Law that are enormously influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education.

ALI has long been influential internationally and, in recent years, more of its work has become international in scope.

Featured Subcollections:

  • Restatements & Principles of the Law
  • Current Projects
  • ALI-CLE Publications
  • Codification and Studies
  • Uniform Commercial Code
  • Audiovisual History Series
  • Special Publications
  • Statement of Essential Human Rights Archive
  • Scholarly Articles
Draft Types in the American Law Institute Library

Tentative Drafts and Proposed Final Drafts are included in this database upon their publication. Once approved by the Council and by the ALI membership at an Annual Meeting, Tentative Drafts and Proposed Final Drafts represent the most current statement of ALI’s position on a subject and may be cited in opinions or briefs in accordance with Bluebook rule 12.9.4 until the official text is published.

The material in Preliminary Drafts and Council Drafts is subject to significant change during the project development process. Thus, these Drafts are not included in this database until six months following the completion of a project, when they are made available by ALI for archival purposes only.