Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

American Law Institute Library

A digital collection that provides easy access to invaluable American Law Institute projects and documents that have influenced modern law and society.

Browsing

Restatements of the Law - Includes Current Restatements!

The Restatements of the Law is one of the most respected and well-used sources of secondary authority, covering nearly every area of common law. We have reordered this subcollection to be listed by category. Each category includes a “More Information” link along with a description of the agency.

HeinOnline Categories Include:

  • Agency
  • Employment Law
  • Policing
  • Charitable Nonprofit Organizations
  • Foreign Relations Law of the United States
  • Property
  • Children and the Law
  • Government Ethics
  • Security / Suretyship and Guaranty
  • Concise Restatements of the Law
  • Judgments
  • Torts
  • Data Privacy
  • Law of American Indians
  • Much more!









Click on any category under the Restatements and Principles of the Law subcollection to view available content.

undefined

 

Browse through the documents for each Restatement or Principle of the Law. Expand or collapse the document titles to see the available indexing. A search bar is conveniently located above all documents for keyword or phrase searching across the entire title. 

undefined

Codifications and Studies

The Codifications and Studies subcollection includes model statutes that are enormously influential in the courts and legislatures, as well as in legal scholarship and education. Most importantly, this collection contains the Model Penal Code. The purpose of the Model Penal Code was to stimulate and assist legislatures in making a major effort to appraise the content of the penal law by a contemporary reasoned judgment of the prohibitions it lays down, the excuses it admits, the sanctions it employs, and the range of the authority that it distributes and confers. Since its promulgation, the Code has played an important part in the widespread revision and codification of the substantive criminal law of the United States. HeinOnline includes the original Proposal to Prepare a Model Penal Code; Discussion, Council, Preliminary and Tentative Drafts; as well as other Miscellaneous Documents related to the Code starting with 1951.

undefined

Uniform Commercial Code

The Uniform Commercial Code (or UCC) is a joint effort of The American Law Institute and The National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. The Code Articles referred to in early drafts of the UCC may not be the same as the final Code Articles that appear in the latest version of the Official Text. This comprehensive code addresses most aspects of commercial law and is generally viewed as one of the most important developments in American law. It has been enacted (with some local variations) in 49 states and in the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands, as well as partially in Louisiana. HeinOnline includes UCC Drafts from 1944 through current, including the 1962 Official Text with Comments.

This subcollection is broken down into the following sections:

  • Official Code
  • Permanent Editorial Board Meeting Agenda, Minutes and Material
  • Permanent Editorial Board Commentaries
  • State Annotations
  • Revisions to UCC

undefined

ALI-CLE Publications

ALI-ABA has been a leader in continuing professional education in the United States for nearly 60 years. In 1947, the American Bar Association asked the American Law Institute to develop the first national program of post-admission legal education, which eventually led to the creation of ALI-CLE. ALI-ABA publishes several legal magazines to help keep professionals current in every area of the law. Navigate to the ALI-CLE Publications subcollection to see what's available.

undefined Click on any title to view its content. Expand or collapse the volumes to see available indexing. A search bar is conveniently located above the volumes for keyword or phrase searching across the entire title. 

undefined

Statement of Essential Human Rights

The Statement of Essential Human Rights subcollection includes documents from an ALI committee that studied the international community's position regarding human rights law in the midst of World War II. The collection includes research material, constitutions, letters, conference and meeting material, drafts, publications, the writings of William Draper Lewis, then Director of the American Law Institute, and other records related to the drafting of the Statement of Essential Human Rights. 

undefined

Scholarly Articles

Navigate to the Scholarly Articles subcollection to browse through more than 6,600 scholarly articles related to the American Law Institute. Here users can sort through content by Article Title, Author, Most-Cited, Year (Newest First), and Year (Oldest First). There is also a search bar users can use to search specifically by title or article. 


undefined

Please Note: In order to access the links, you must be subscribed to the appropriate HeinOnline collection(s).