World Trials Library

Donovan Nuremburg Trials Collection

The Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection at Cornell University consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). The Donovan papers contain both original statements from the defendants in German and typed translations in English prepared by the Allies.

The Donovan Archive is a voluminous collection of material related to the first Nuremberg Trials of 1945-1946 and comprises investigative, procedural, and legal documents. The documents assume various formats, ranging from mimeographs, photostats, and carbon copies to photographs, maps, typescripts, and original manuscripts.

Famous Trials

Curated by Professor Douglas O. Linder at UMKC School of Law, this website presents original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history.

International Criminal Court

Official website for the ICC, which investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression. 

International Criminal Law (University of Oxford)

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying international criminal law at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Influence of the Nuremberg Trial on International Criminal Law

Predecessors of the International Criminal Court, the Nuremberg (November 1945 – October 1946) and Tokyo (May 1946 – November 1948) war crime trials represent a turning point in the development of modern international criminal law, laying the groundwork for the definition of war crimes and the prosecution of their perpetrators. This article presents the most valuable resources available online and at the ICRC Library on the subject, from historical sources to key academic publications.

Nazi War Crimes Interagency Working Group

The Nazi War Crimes and Japanese Imperial Government Records Interagency Working Group (IWG) locates, identifies, inventories, and recommends for declassification, currently classified U.S. records relating to Nazi and Japanese Imperial Government war crimes. Once declassified, these records are released to the American public. This page from the National Archives links to documents produced and declassified by the IWG.

Prosecuting War Crimes after the Second World War: The Nuremberg and Tokyo Trials (International Committee of the Red Cross)

This post from the International Red Cross provides links to documents, audiovisual files, and other links from around the web.

War Crimes

This page from the United Nations Office on Genocide Prevention and the Responsibility to Protect gives background and definitions on war crimes, with links to information on genocide, crimes against humanity, and ethnic cleansing.

War Crimes, 1939-1945

This guide assists with conducting research at the National Archives (UK) on war crimes and criminals (both alleged and proved) from 1939-1945.

War Crimes Trials at Nuremberg

This digital collection contains selected documents from the Nuremberg War Crimes holdings of the Harry S. Truman Library & Museum, Columbia University Law School, and Hebrew Union College. This collection includes 335 documents totaling 4146 pages covering the years 1943 through 1961. Supporting materials include photographs, oral history transcripts, additional finding aids and a chronology of events spanning the years from 1941 through 1948.