Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Women and the Law

Women and the Law (Peggy) is a collection that brings together books, biographies, and periodicals to provide a convenient platform for users to research the progression of women's roles and rights in society over the past 200 years.

Overview

Women and the Law (Peggy)

Women and the Law (Peggy) is a database containing a unique collection of materials bringing together more than 3,200 books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to women’s roles in society and the law over the past 200 years. Also included are more than 70 titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.

Featured Subcollections:

  • Works on Abortion
  • Biographies of Famous Women
  • Feminism and Legal Theory Project
  • Legal Rights & Suffrage
  • Periodicals
  • Women & Education
  • Women & Employment
  • Women & Society
  • Women's Bar Association
  • Scholarly Articles
  • Bibliography of Other Works
  • External Links

 

Special Dedication

A message from company Chief Executive Officer, Kevin Marmion

To Our Valued Friends in the Library Community,
 
Over the last sixteen years, HeinOnline has grown from a single law journal collection of 25 titles to a digital archive with more than 60 distinct collections containing over 131 million pages, more than 100,000 titles, and 237,000 volumes. None of this could have been possible without the support of our full customer base.
 
As we look to the future, academic law libraries are facing continued budget issues with each passing year. As a token of our appreciation of your continued support of our company, we are pleased to provide our Academic Core Library subscribers complimentary access to our new collection, Women and the Law. This historical archive contains nearly 1,000 fully searchable titles. For more information, view our brochure. Like the World Constitutions Illustrated introduced in 2010, we hope you find this archive of interest to researchers throughout your university.
 
We are dedicating this library to the memory of two significant women who had a critical role in the development of the library. First, Ilene N. Hein who passed away in 2012. Ilene cofounded William S. Hein & Co., Inc. in 1961 alongside her husband Bill. Many people recognized Bill, Sr. as our first President and CEO and are even more familiar of his travels with Bill Jr., Hein's Chairman of the Board, who has guided the Company since his dad's passing in 1976. Like most women of her generation, Ilene was not fully recognized for her corporate contributions. Ilene worked actively from 1961-1992 at the Hein Company; she set the highest standard for customer service and values that have become the cornerstone of Hein's customer service.
 
Finally, to my mom, Margaret (Peggy) Marmion, who passed away in April 2009. She was an avid supporter of women's rights, although most of her career she raised eight children and unselfishly put her own interests behind the needs of her family. If she were born a few generations later I'm sure she would have been running a corporation or changing the world in some way. Her passion lives within me, my brother, and six sisters. Consequently, the subtitle for this library is Peggy.
 
Bill and I thank you again for your support. We challenge each librarian to encourage their colleagues to contribute and check their collection for important content that could be added. We welcome your thoughts and comments.
 
Kevin Marmion
03/01/2014