Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library

This rich collection includes comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, as well as a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson’s award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories.

Overview

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library

HeinOnline’s U.S. Federal Legislative History Library contains more than 2,500 titles from a number of sources, including the Government Printing Office, Arnold and Porter, Covington and Burling, Kirkland and Ellis, and more. William S. Hein & Co., Inc. also has contracted with legal experts to compile and publish legislative histories on major public laws in-house.

These compilations are composed of the text of the final public law, House and Senate bill variations, Congressional hearings, House and Senate reports, and more. Research legislative intent behind major public laws and follow the progression of a bill from its introduction to its passage. Gain insight and clarification into ambiguous statutory language with this valuable type of resource.

All titles are indexed to the document level and are fully searchable. In addition to legislative history content, this database includes the database version of the award-winning Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Utilize this database to determine whether a legislative history has been compiled on a public law and also to locate related documents, such as books or scholarly articles. All material available in HeinOnline is linked and accessible from this database. From the database homepage, users can also browse a legislative reference checklist or access external resources on compiling federal legislative histories and other various legislative research guides.