United Nations Law Collection

Enter a United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) or League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) citation

If you have a UNTS or LNTS citation, you can enter the citation into the citation tool to quickly access the full text of a treaty. When you click on either link, the tools will be displayed. For example, locate 828 UNTS 221 or 78 L.N.T.S. 163 and select Get Citation.

You may also enter a UNTS or LNTS citation by selecting the Citation Navigator link found under the one-box search bar and inserting the volume, selecting the title, and inserting the page number. 

Search for a Treaty

Select the Search for a Treaty tool in the Finding Aids on the database home page.

Using this treaty search option, you can search across a number of different metadata fields for a United Nations treaty or a League of Nations treaty. 

This search option allows you to narrow your search to only the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S), or both.

• UNTS denotes a search field option available when looking for a United Nations treaty.
• LNTS denotes a search field option available when looking for a League of Nations treaty. 

Search Field Options Include:

• Treaty/Registration Number: Enter the treaty number using the numerical digits only; for example, I. No. 970 would be entered as “970”. UNTS LNTS 
• Country Name: Search for a treaty by Country Name by entering the full country name into the search box; for example, Australia. UNTS LNTS 
• Multilateral Parties: Search by the multilateral parties involved in a treaty; for example, Argentina. UNTS 
• Short Title: Search across the short title of the treaty using key words; for example, “Wounded and Sick in Armed Forces”. UNTS LNTS 
• Popular Name: Search for a treaty by the popular name; for example, Geneva Conventions. UNTS 
• Treaty Description: Search for a treaty using key words from the treaty description; for example, “condition of the wounded and sick” UNTS LNTS 
• ShortTitle/Pop.Name/Desc.: Search for a treaty by the Short Title, Popular Name, or Treaty Description. UNTS LNTS 
• Annex Description: Search across the Annex Description using key words; for example, “Final Act of the Intergovernmental Conference”. UNTS 
• Signature Place: Search by the place that the treaty was signed; for example, Geneva. UNTS 
• Signature Date: Search by date using the following format: MM/DD/YY; for example, 08/12/49. UNTS 
• In Force Date: Search by date using the following format: MM/DD/YY; for example, 08/12/49. UNTS 
• Previous Signature Date: Search by date using the following format: MM/DD/YY; for example, 08/12/49. UNTS 
• Post Signature Date: Search by date using the following format: MM/DD/YY; for example, 08/12/49. UNTS 
• Kavass Subjects: All UN treaties in HeinOnline have been assigned a Kavass Subject, thus allowing you to search by subject; for example, Arms Control. UNTS 
• UNTS Citation: Search for a treaty by the UNTS citation; for example, 75 UNTS 31. UNTS 
• Date: Search for a treaty by the UNTS volume date in which the treaty was published; for example, search for all treaties published in the UNTS in 1950 UNTS LNTS 
• Text: Search for a word or phrase within the full text of the treaty or treaties. UNTS LNTS 
• Keywords: Search terms found in all metadata fields. UNTS LNTS 

United Nations Treaties Search Results

Search results contain key information about the treaty, including:

1. UNTS citation links to the full text
2. Registration number of treaty
3. Short title of treaty
4. Cited by articles displays the number of articles which cite to the treaty
5. Treaty/Registration Number
6. UNTS citation
7. Countries involved or “Multilateral”
8. Parties to agree, where applicable
9. Short title or popular name of treaty
10. Description of treaty
11. Kavass Subject Indexing applied to treaty
12. UN Status information links to current treaty status provided through the United Nations

When a search result shows “Agreement Text Not currently available”, the full text of the agreement is not in HeinOnline. However, the data relevant to the treaty is provided by viewing the “Treaty Summary”.

League of Nations Treaties Search Results

Search results contain key information about the treaty including:

1. LNTS citation links to the full text
2. Title of treaty series
3. Treaty/registration number
4. Short title of treaty 
5. Treaty number
6. Date
7. LNTS citation
8. Countries involved or parties to agree, when applicable
9. Short title of treaty
10. Description of treaty
11. Type of treaty
12. Registration date of treaty 

Click the treaty citation link to view full text of treaty in both English and French.

​

Search Across All United Nations Publications

Researchers may search across all United Nations publications using various metadata fields by selecting the Advanced Search option below the Full Text tab.

Use the drop-down menus to search by:

• Text: searches across the full text of all titles or selection of titles in the United Nations Library.
• Title: searches the title of specific sections within the documents, as well as volume title. For example, search “Status, Breadth and limitation of the Territorial Sea,” which appears within the United Nations Legislative Series set.
• Creator/Author: searches the author/creator of the document
• Keywords: search terms found in all metadata fields.
• Description: the description of all sections or documents.
• Date: searches across the volume date of the United Nations publication, always in YYYY format.

Use the drop-down menu for boolean operators to connect search terms (AND, OR, NOT).

Select Document Type: Search specific document types, including All Document Types, Treaty Publications, ICJ, UNCITRAL, ITLOS, UN Yearbooks, UN Serials, Codification and Progressive Development of International Law, Other Related Works, WTO Publications, and UNIDIR.

Select Titles: Narrow the search to one or more titles.

Date: enter date in YYYY format