Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

United Nations Law Collection

This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles.

Additional Resources

Case Law Database

This database from the United Nations International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals provides direct access to extracts of key judgements and decisions rendered by the ICTR, ICTY, and IRMCT Appeals Chambers since their inception, as well as to full-text versions of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions.

Flare Index to Treaties

The Flare Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties concluded from the 1600s onwards and a number of significant bilateral treaties signed between 1353 and 1815, with links to the full text, where available, providing a research tool aiding scholars and students, lawyers and librarians in researching the international law of treaties - whether they are new or experienced in the field.

Introduction to Sources for Treaty Research

This resource, written by Mark Engsberg and Mary Beth Chappell Lyles, provides an introduction to conducting treaty research, including a list of treaty terms, where to locate treaties, and the differences between multilateral and bilateral treaties.

UN Human Rights Treaties: Travaux Préparatoires

This database from the University of Virginia School of Law presents a fully-searchable, digital collection of the travaux préparatoires.

United Nations Documents

This section of Yale Law Library's Avalon Project provides access to re-keyed versions of foundational United Nations documents.

The Avalon Project contains digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government ranging in date from before the Common Era to present day.

United Nations Research Guide

This research guide from Duke Law provides an introduction to United Nations materials, highlighting materials available at the Goodson Law Library and Perkins/Bostock Library.

United Nations Audio Visual Library of International Law

The United Nations, in cooperation with HeinOnline, is pleased to make available to the users of the United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law a collection of scholarly writings to promote a better understanding of international law around the world, particularly in developing countries, which may have limited access to international law libraries. The scholarly writings included in this collection can be researched by subject, author or date. Additional materials will be added as they become available.

United Nations Human Rights Office: Treaty Body Case Law Database

This database provides easy access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).

United Nations Research Guides & Resources

These research guides from the Dag Hammarskjöld Library provide information on researching United Nations documents by body, including General Assembly, Security Counsel, and Secretariat, or subject, including disarmament, international law, and peace and security.