Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

State Statutes: A Historical Archive

A valuable source of information for researchers and scholars to explore and understand the creation of historical state statutes.

HeinOnline Specialist

Profile Photo
Breanne Callahan
Contact:
William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
2350 North Forest Road
Getzville, NY 14068
716-882-2600

Topic Overview

About State Statutes: A Historical Archive

HeinOnline's State Statutes: A Historical Archive includes more than 2.8 million pages of superseded statutes for all fifty states, with coverage dating back to 1717.

 

Visit Database

 

Screenshot of State Statutes state listing

 

Session Laws Library

HeinOnline's State Statutes: A Historical Archive also includes access to our Session Laws Library, which contains exact replications of the bound session laws of all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Updated monthly, this is an ever-expanding database. It is the only complete online source of laws from all 50 states, beginning with territorial, colonial, and early statehood laws and continuing through to today. As new session laws are printed, they are added to the databases within 60 days of publication.

The database also includes the D.C. Register and the Session Laws of the U.S. Federal Government and features the entire back file of the Acts of Parliament of Canada and Acts of Parliament of Australia.