Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies: A Bibliographic Listing

An extensive and current listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies, with linking to full-text reports, congressional hearings, and related scholarly articles and books.

Searching within the Database

Full-Text Searching

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline. After entering Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies, the Full Text search tab option on the search bar will search only within this database.

Search for articles pertaining to a topic using the main search bar. For example, enter the phrase kennedy AND assassination into the bar.


 

Within the results, terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets. Refine the results using the facets on the left side of the page. Available facets include date, document type, section type, title, and president. Sort search results by relevance, volume date, and more.

Find cited-by information and access tools, such as an instant PDF download, on the right side of each search result.  Use the icons next to the sort-by bar to modify your current search, to search within results, to toggle all matching text pages, or to turn OFF infinite scroll.

undefined

Commissions Reports Search Tool

From the main database page, users can choose to browse commission reports by president, commission name, commission subject, or report title. In addition, they can utilize the Commissions Reports Search Tool specifically designed for navigating this database. Find the tool right on the main page or within the Advanced Search option of the database. 

undefined

 

Use the tool to perform a tailored search for a keyword, president, subject, name/author, or report title relating to a specific commission. As an example, we've performed a search for all reports relating to President Bush and the 9/11 terrorist attack on the United States, while limiting the results to those published between 2001 and 2005.

undefined

Venn Diagram Search

Users can now visualize the results yield of various keywords to better refine their searches. Find the Venn Diagram feature in Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies on the main database page or within the Advanced Search hyperlink underneath the main search bar. 

undefined

 

Upon selecting the feature, users will be redirected to a search bar, instructions for its use, and example searches. Enter a search for multiple terms separated by the Boolean operator "AND." A Venn Diagram will appear, illustrating the various combinations of those terms and their respective results yield throughout the database. The original search combining all terms will appear by default, visually represented by the red intersection of all circles. 

View a sample Venn Diagram Search for the terms terrorism AND defense AND "mass destruction" below. 

undefined