Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies: A Bibliographic Listing

An extensive and current listing of publications created by presidential advisory bodies, with linking to full-text reports, congressional hearings, and related scholarly articles and books.

Commission Reports

Indexed and Full-Text Commission Reports

More than 7,400 commission reports are indexed in the database, spanning U.S. presidential administrations from Andrew Jackson to Donald Trump. More than 2,400 full-text reports of those indexed entries link to full-text reproductions of the report, including those from more than ten of the most well-known presidential commissions:

Wickersham Commission (National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement) - 1929
Roberts Commission (Commission to Investigate and Report the Facts Relating to the Attack made by Japanese Armed Forces upon Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941) - 1941
President's Committee on Civil Rights - 1947
Hoover Commission (Commission on the Organization of the Executive Branch of the Government - 1947
President's Commission on the Status of Women - 1961
Warren Commission (President's Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy) - 1963
President's Commission on Campus Unrest - 1970
Iran Contra, Tower Commission (President's Special Review Board) - 1986
Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS - 1995
9/11 Commission (National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States) - 2002
Iraq Intelligence Commission (Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction) - 2004
National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling - 2010

On the main database page, users are immediately presented with the Commissions Reports Index. From here, browse all indexed or full-text report entries by president, commission name, commission subject, or report title.

Browse by President

Select the President browse option to view a list of administrations for which indexed or full-text commission reports are available*.

screenshot of Browse by President in Commission Reports Index

Select any president to view his specific list of commissions, councils, or advisory boards. As an example, we've selected George W. Bush below:

undefined

*Coverage of presidential administrations extends from Andrew Jackson to Joseph Biden.

Browse by Commission Name

Choose to browse by Commission Name and find a navigable alphabetical list of all commissions for which HeinOnline has entries. Where popular (yet unofficial) commission names are listed, HeinOnline redirects the user to the official commission name.

undefined

Select any commission name to view the available reports for that commission. As an example, we've selected Bill Clinton's Assassination Records Review Board below.

undefined

Browse by Commission Subject

Use the Commission Subject browse option to find any commission reports that fall under a particular subject.

undefined

As an example, we've selected the subject of Asian Americans below. Use the facets on the left-hand side to filter the results by president or additional related subjects.

undefined

Selected Commission Subjects

The reports in this database have been categorized under hundreds of subjects for your searching convenience. Subjects include:

Agriculture
AIDS
American Indians
Bioethics
Biotechnology
Censorship
Challenger Space Shuttle
Chemical Warfare
Children
Cybersecurity

Defense
Domestic Violence
Drug Abuse
Education
Elections
Foreign Aid
Gambling
Global Warming
Gun Control
Health Care

Identity Theft
Immigration
International Trade
Jobs
Labor Disputes
Mental Health
National Security
Nuclear Weapons
Organized Crime
Prison

Refugees
Social Security
Toxic Substances
United Nations
Veterans
Violence
War Criminals
Water
World Hunger
And hundreds more!

Browse by Report Title

Browse by Report Title to find a navigable alphabetical list of all reports for which HeinOnline has entries.

undefined

Select any report to be directed to its related commission. As an example, we've selected Achieving an AIDS-Free Generation, from President Barack Obama's Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS.

undefined