Skip to Main Content
HeinOnline

New York Legal Research Library

An extensive collection dedicated to the history, study, practice, and development of law in the state of New York.

Browsing

Session Laws are laws published in annual or other periodic volumes of laws enacted during a particular session or sitting of the legislature, in the order in which they were passed. Included in the New York Legal Research Library is comprehensive coverage of New York State Session Laws dating back to inception in 1691.

Quick Locator Tool

The New York Session Laws Quick Locator tool can be utilized to easily find a specific session law. Input the year and the Chapter/Act or Page Number of your desired law. Or, you can browse through the General Index of the Laws of the State of New York, the Laws of New York, or New York.

session laws in New York Legal Research Library, highlighting Quick Locator Tool

Included in the New York Legal Research Library are historical state statutes dating back to 1792. You can browse these statutes alphabetically:

state statutes in New York Legal Research Library

Included in this subcollection are the superseded statutes of New York prior to 1923 and New York state reports from the 1600s. Historical state reports include Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Superior Court of the City of New York, Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Court of Chancery of the State of New York, Reports of Cases Decided in the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York, and much more.

Browse these reports by Court, Citation, or Official Title:

state reports in New York Legal Research Library highlighting browse options

 

 

Derived from the award-winning sourcebook Prestatehood Legal Materials, this subcollection includes state codes, historical backgrounds, relevant scholarly articles, town and city records and documents, books, manuscripts, and more relating to New York from colonization to statehood.

prestatehood materials available in New York Legal Research Library

 

View New York State's constitutions dating back to 1492, as well as relevant scholarly articles and other related works.

list of New York State constitutions available in New York Legal Research Library

The New York Legal Research Library also features several other subcollections, including:

Journals

Browse New York journals, most-cited journals, bar journals, and serials.

subcollections in New York Legal Research Library, highlighting New York Journals, Most-Cited Journals, Bar Journals, and New York Serials

 

Reports

From state reports and attorney general reports and opinions, to GAO reports, check them all out in their various subcollections.
subcollections in New York Legal Research Library, highlighting New York State Reports, Attorney General Reports and Opinions, and GAO reports

 

Additional Subcollections