Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index

This print and online resource is designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects.

Overview

About Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index

Winner of the 2018 Foreign, Comparative & International Law Special Interest Section (FCIL-SIS) Award

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index is a print and online finding aid designed to direct researchers to sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. These print and electronic sources contain full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law.

This title is based on Professor Jon Schultz’s Statutes Compared: A U.S., Canadian, Multinational Research Guide to Statutes by Subject (2nd ed. 2001), and Multinational Statutes Compared: A Research Guide to Statutes by Subject (2003). These publications gave extensive reviews of each selected source to give the researcher an idea of what the resource contained before trying to obtain it.

Much has changed in legal publishing in the intervening years, and Wolotira and Leysen quickly realized that they would have to change their approach to a more feasible and realistic strategy for this title. Many works referenced in the original titles have since changed titles, scope, authors and publishers, and it was difficult to obtain physical copies of many of these resources. The authors have, therefore, changed the scope of their review, and the content included. This also necessitated a title change, rather than a subsequent edition to Professor Schultz's prior work, to better reflect the new content.

New to the Second Edition

The new second edition continues to consult English-language legal information publishers and sift through their product offerings, adding publishers to the review list along the way. Many legacy titles are still updated and maintained, while others remain accessible to researchers in certain formats but are no longer updated. Additionally, “global guides” are moving away from offering a traditional bound volume, to a flexible practitioner-written “Q&A guide” format. Also, this edition incorporates comparative monographs, which typically feature a collection of jurisdictional essays written on a specific and focused topic.

Other updates are designed to make the work easier to use. For example, while the first edition began the author/editor field with the first author or editor’s last name, the author/editor field in the second edition has been changed to conform with Rule 15 of The Bluebook (21st ed. 2021). In addition, this edition includes conforming the different types of monographs or supplements to the descriptor “bound volume,” and making the list of format types more consistent.


Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject Index and Jurisdiction Online

Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index online is a stand-alone, fully searchable database in HeinOnline. Not only will researchers be able to quickly search by content fields—including the highly useful jurisdiction and subject fields—but the material will be updated regularly online, between new print editions. The database allows the authors to more easily add new resources, update jurisdictions, and add or modify subjects as the law progresses.

 

 

 

  Multinational Statutes Compared (2003) Multinational Sources Compared (2016) Multinational Sources Compared (2021)
Types of Resources Included Print. Treatises that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects with the provision of full-text legislation Print and electronic. Treatises that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. Includes resources with the provision of full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law Print and electronic. Treatises that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. Includes resources with the provision of full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law
Number of Subjects 138 280 336
Identifying Information about the Book Author/editor, title, location of publisher, publisher Author/editor, title, location of publisher (if a printed work), publisher, year or continually updated, if looseleaf, format(s), including eBooks and databases, frequency of updating, ISBN (or ISSN) if print, database/ website where electronic resource can be found Author/editor, title, location of publisher (if a printed work), publisher, year or continually updated, if looseleaf, format(s), including eBooks and databases, frequency of updating, ISBN (or ISSN) if print, database/website where electronic resource can be found, updated information about the source, in addition to when the source was added (MM/DD/YY)
Description of the Resource Provided Examined each resource Examined resources available. To increase the breadth of resources, publishers’ descriptions and any available contents (table of contents; sample chapters) were used to understand and describe its topical coverage Examined resources available. To increase the breadth of resources, publishers’ descriptions and any available contents (table of contents; sample chapters) were used to understand and describe its topical coverage
Description of the Jurisdictions covered Cursory Comprehensive. Tables of contents were checked, publishers’ descriptions and reviewed resources in print when available to compile each resource’s jurisdiction list. Comprehensive. Tables of contents were checked, publishers’ descriptions and reviewed resources in print when available to compile each resource’s jurisdiction list.
Date Range of Works Covered Not clear Includes only works that have been published or updated since 2011 Includes only works that have been published or updated since 2014