Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.

Acts & Legislative Histories

The Acts & Legislative Histories subcollection contains more than 40 compiled legislative histories relating to immigration law, including these popular titles:

• Immigration and Nationality Acts: Legislative Histories and Related Documents 1950-1978 - Compiled by Oscar M. Trelles II & James F. Bailey III
• Legislative History of the Amendment to the Displaced Persons Act of 1948 - Compiled by Covington & Burling
• Legislative History of the Clarifying the Immigration Status of Certain Aliens Act - Compiled by Covington & Burling
• Legislative History of the Immigration and Nationality Act Amendments of 1970 - Compiled by Covington & Burling
• Legislative History of the Expatriation Act of 1954 - Compiled by Covington & Burling
• Act to Require the Accreditation of English Language Training Programs, and for Other Purposes, P.L. 111-306 - Compiled by the U.S. Government Publishing Office

Users may browse the acts and legislative histories by Publication Title, Public Law Number, or Popular Name.

Law & Policy

This subcollection covers more than 200 years of immigration law & policy with several notable classics, including:

• Digest of Immigration Laws and Decisions - Chapman W. Maupin
• Immigration and Nationality Act, Annotated, with Rules and Regulations - Sidney Kansas
• Citizenship of the United States of America - Sidney Kansas
• Guide to Admission to the United States: Immigration Laws of the United States (2nd ed.) - Carol McCormick Crosswell and Helen Silving
• How to Become a Citizen of the United States: A Guide to Naturalization Law and Procedure (Library ed.) - Margaret E. Hall



Extradition

For the first time, extradition content is available online in a fully searchable format! Notable titles include:

• U.S. Immigration: Exclusion and Deportation - Sidney Kansas
• Treatise on the Laws Governing the Exclusion and Expulsion of Aliens in the United States - Clement L. Bouve
• U.S. Wickersham Commission Reports. U.S. National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement, 14 volumes - Various Authors

Featured Title: Extradition Laws and Treaties: United States
Editor: William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
Previous Editor: Igor I. Kavass

This valuable reference set contains hundreds of treaties on extradition and judicial assistance. In one convenient work, find all of the operative extradition treaties of the United States, as well as U.S. legislative provisions about extradition. In addition, expanded coverage includes judicial assistance agreements that relate closely in nature to the original extradition treaties.

GAO Reports

HeinOnline's GAO Reports database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included (with the exception of restricted or classified documents). For the user's convenience, HeinOnline has now compiled its GAO Reports relevant to immigration within the Immigration Law & Policy database, under the GAO Reports subcollection. 

About the GAO

Headed by the Comptroller General of the United States, the Government Accountability Office (GAO) is a legislative branch agency that provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the U.S. Congress. The GAO produces reports and written correspondence, testimonies and statements for the record, briefings for congressional staff members, and more. 

Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) Precedent Decisions

This subcollection includes the most up-to-date opinions and decisions of the U.S. Department of Justice concerning U.S. immigration policy and practice. BIA Precedent Decisions is a working index to the Administrative Decisions under Immigration and Nationality Laws, containing decisions which have been selected and designated as precedents in accordance with Title 8, Code of Federal Regulations section 3.1(g) and 103.3(c). It includes all opinions and orders of the Attorney General, Board of Immigration Appeals, and the Commissioner of Immigration and Naturalization Service. 

The index also provides access to Hein's Interim Decision Service to Administrative Decisions under Immigration and Nationality Laws, giving users the most up-to-date opinions and decisions of the BIA. 

Users may search the subcollection by Decision Number or browse topics alphabetically.