Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

History of Capital Punishment

This resource provides a comprehensive overview of the history of death penalty legislation and includes the Eugene G. Wanger and Marilyn M. Wanger Death Penalty Collection: A Descriptive Bibliography.

Overview

Overview of the History of Capital Punishment

Capital punishment is easily one of the most controversial and heavily debated issues in history. With this in mind, HeinOnline has created a resource packed with information on the subject, providing researchers with a comprehensive overview of the history of death penalty legislation.

Major components of History of Capital Punishment include:

  • A comprehensive overview of the history of death penalty legislation
  • A database version of The Eugene G. Wanger and Marilyn M. Wanger Death Penalty Collection, the result of more than 50 years of research by Eugene G. Wanger, a noted expert on the subject of capital punishment
  • Books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, photographs, and other memorabilia related to the history of the death penalty
  • More than 7,000 bibliographic entries with links to nearly 650 full-text documents only available in HeinOnline!
  • Related trials, congressional hearings, periodicals, scholarly articles, and more!

Mr. Wanger’s work, combined with the additional content included in History of Capital Punishment in HeinOnline, provides an extensive and well-organized platform for research on capital punishment and related issues. Access digital replicas of original print publications, including current and important historical treatises on this relevant and long-debated topic.

"... Except for peace and war, no question of public policy is more important than whether or not, or under what circumstances, government should be authorized by its citizens to kill people."

Eugene G. Wanger