Foreign Relations of the United States
HeinOnline Specialist
2350 North Forest Road
Getzville, NY 14068
716-882-2600
Browsing the Database
Foreign Relations of the United States Series
Foreign Relations of the United States is broken into multiple subcollections. The database defaults to the Foreign Relations of the United States series produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.
This series is comprised of 528 volumes containing invaluable historical information. The series began in 1861 during Abraham Lincoln's administration under the title of Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States, and continued through Ronald Reagan in 1988. In 1947, the title changed to Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers. Finally, in 1969, the name was shortened to its present form.
The volumes in this series contain documents from various presidential libraries, the Departments of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies. Also included are the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
Government Documents
Congressional Research Service and Government Accountability Office Reports
Peruse hundreds of reports from the Congressional Research Service (Congress' "think tank") and the Government Accountability Office, a legislative branch agency which provides Congress with auditing, evaluation, and investigative services. Reports cover a myriad of topics relating to foreign affairs, including U.S. policy in Afghanistan and Syria, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), economic foreign affairs policies, the threat of terrorism, and more.
Title 22 of the Code of Federal Regulations
Find comprehensive digital coverage of Title 22 (Foreign Relations) of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Divided into 50 titles, the CFR is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government of the United States. In this database, access true-to-print digital copies of every iteration of the 22nd title all the way back to the publication's inception in 1938.
Books, Periodicals, and Articles
In addition to the expansive Foreign Relations of the United States series, congressional reports, and the CFR’s Title 22, this database includes nearly 1,500 titles relevant to the study of U.S. international relations, including:
American Foreign Policy Current Documents
U.S. Department of State (1956-1991)
United States and Russia: The Beginning of Relations, 1765-1815
U.S. Government Printing Office (1980)
Documents on Germany, 1944-1985
U.S. Department of State, Office of the Historian, Bureau of Public Affairs (1985)
Emerging Nation: A Documentary History of the Foreign Relations of the United States under the Articles of Confederation, 1780-1789
National Historical Publications and Records Commission (1996)
American Foreign Policy Basic Documents, 1950-1955
U.S. Government Printing Office (1957)
