Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Brill Nijhoff Journal & Yearbook Collection

The Brill Nijhoff Journal & Yearbook Collection provides access to the most recent three volumes of more than 40 journals and nearly 20 yearbooks.

Search Tips

Main Search Bar

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline. After entering the Brill Nijhoff Journals & Yearbook Collection, the Full Text search tab option on the search bar will search the full-text within only this database. Click Advanced Search to expand search fields or to perform a more specific or date-limited search. Click Search Help for a quick reference guide to commonly used search syntax.

 

Using the Main Search Bar

Search for articles pertaining to a topic using the main search bar. For example, enter the phrase "human rights violation" inside quotation marks into the search bar. Refine your results using the facets on the left side of the results page. Facets include date, section type, subjects, title, and country published. Sort search results by relevance, volume date, and more.  Terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets. 

Using the Advanced Search Option

Click the Advanced Search link located beneath the main search bar to perform a more specific search. Choose from the various metadata fields such as Text, Article Title, Author/Creator, and more. For example, enter Human Rights in the Paris Agreement in the Article Title drop-down box, and Benoit Mayer in the Author/Creator drop-down box. Additional options in the Advanced Search tool include searching by title, date range, state, country, and much more.

This will return one result that contains the title and author being searched.

Using the Venn Diagram

Click the Advanced Search link located beneath the main search bar and select the Venn Diagram Search button located on the upper right side of the Advanced Search page. 

Users will be redirected to a page with a search bar, instructions for its use, and a few illustrations. The Venn Diagram Search searches the full-text of the documents in the collection. For example, perform a search using the terms LGBT AND human AND rights. Click the Search button to bring up a Venn Diagram illustrating the various combinations of those terms and their respective results. The original search combining the terms will appear by default, visually represented by the red intersection of all three circles in the diagram.

Select the Clear button above the diagram to be able to hover over the various options represented in the diagram. Users will then see all possible search term combinations and their results as the cursor hovers over them. Click one of these highlighted circles or intersections to explore their results.