Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights
HeinOnline Specialist
2350 North Forest Road
Getzville, NY 14068
716-882-2600
Browsing the Database
Browsing the Database
Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights includes a wealth of content that has been broken into 10 subcollections (plus All Titles and External Links). An overview of the content included in many of these subcollections can be found within the various tabs on this page.
Entering the database will bring users directly to the "All Titles" tab, where they may browse all of the titles in the database by title name, author, date, or subject.
Subjects include specific types of animals, as well as hot topics in animal rights such as Animal Behavior, Animal Intelligence, Ethics, Wild Animal Trade, and much more.
Legislative Histories
The Legislative Histories subcollection contains 71 legislative histories, including:
- Endangered Species Act, signed by President Richard Nixon to protect endangered species from extinction.
- Marine Mammal Protection Act of 1972, the first act of the U.S. Congress to call for an ecosystem approach to wildlife management.
- Animal Cancer Research Act, to provide for research into diagnosis, prevention, and control of malignant tumors in domestic animals, poultry, and wildlife.
- Hunting Heritage Protection Act, to recognize the heritage of hunting and provide opportunities for hunting on Federal public land.
Books, Periodicals, and Articles
Find thousands of historical and current publications chosen by our editors for their discussion of animal welfare, protection laws, international wildlife laws, and more.
Peruse several publications dedicated to animal rights and animal law, including Animals' Advocate, Journal of Animal Law and Ethics, Journal of Animal & Environmental Law, Journal of International Wildlife Law and Policy, and more.
Browse more than a thousand historical and current works, ranging from the philosophical to the analytical.
Explore hundreds of scholarly articles relating to animal rights, animal law, and related topics, such as environmental law and use of natural resources. Sort the articles by title, author, number of citations, or year published, or search the articles by title or author.
Hearings, Reports, and the Code of Federal Regulations
Locate more than 860 congressional hearings on all sorts of topics related to animal studies, from the livestock industry to service dogs for disabled veterans to wildlife conservation.
Browse the complete Title 9 (Animals and Animal Products) and Title 50 (Wildlife and Fisheries) of the Code of Federal Regulations.
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
Peruse more than 140 reports from the Government Accountability Office, a legislative branch agency which provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the United States Congress. Reports cover a myriad of animal-related topics, including wildlife trafficking, endangered species programs, disease risk evaluation from live animal imports, and more.
Featured Works from Relevant Organizations
The Animal Legal Defense Fund was founded in 1979 and has since paved the way for stronger anti-cruelty laws and more humane treatment of animals. The mission of ALDF is to protect the lives and advance the interests of animals through the legal system. They work to file lawsuits to stop animal abuse, provide free legal assistance to prosecutors handling cruelty cases, encourage the federal government to enforce existing animal protection laws, offer public education through seminars and workshops, and work to facilitate the future of animal law through Student Animal Legal Defense Fund chapters and their Animal Law Program.
The Animal Welfare Institute was founded in 1951 for the purpose of ending suffering of animals caused by people. The Institute was originally founded to stop the use of animals for experimentation but has since expanded to include all human actions detrimental to endangered species, including fighting the destruction of natural forests containing ancient trees, stopping pollution of the oceans that endanger marine life, and shutting down cruel animal factories that raise and slaughter animals. The AWI works to protect animals by implementing non-animal testing methods and prevention of painful experiments on animals in high schools.