Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights
HeinOnline Specialist
2350 North Forest Road
Getzville, NY 14068
716-882-2600
Additional Resources
Animal Law: A Beginner's Guide
This guide from the Law Library of Congress provides an overview of the resources available covering animal law, wildlife law, and animal rights and welfare law.
An Introduction to Animal Law (Library of Congress)
This blog post from the Law Library of Congress provides a bibliographic overview of animal law, wildlife law, and animal rights and welfare.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, and is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. Its blog, In Custodia Legis, covers current legal trends, developments and enhancements to Congress.gov, issues in collecting for the largest law library in the world, legal history and arcana and a range of international perspectives.
This LibGuide from the Bora Laskin Law Library at the University of Toronto aims to provide a variety of resources to those researching Canadian animal law and the wide range of related topics. It also serves as a gateway to the Canada Edition of the Brooks Animal Law Digest, a premier online publication dedicated to offering in-depth and up-to-date coverage on the most important developments in Canadian animal law and policy.
The Animal Law Resource Center provides access to legislation and legal matters pertaining to animals and the law, including information concerning animal cruelty, animal control, laboratory animal welfare, wildlife management and other issues concerning animals in our society. This content is updated regularly and is presented in searchable databases to help legal professionals, students, advocates and the general public make sense of a wealth of information and resources regarding legal and legislative issues.
The Animal Law Resource Center is a project of the National Anti-Vivisection Society (NAVS), a not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing science without harming animals.
Animal Legal & Historical Center (Michigan State University)
This site serves as a comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.
The Animal Law and History Web Center is a project of the Michigan State University College of Law, under the editorship of Professor David Favre and Rebecca Wisch. It first opened in August of 2002. As a legal policy library, it focuses on what the law is now and what the law ought to be.
Animal Law Program at George Washington University Law School
This page provides an overview of GW Law's Animal Law area of study, with links to courses, events, faculty, news, projects, and scholarships.
Established in 1865, The George Washington University Law School is the oldest law school in Washington, DC. and one of America's most prominent law schools.
University of New Mexico Center Wild Friends
The Wild Friends Program is an award-winning civics education program at the UNM School of Law, providing hands-on learning to students in grades 4-12 across New Mexico. In this unique program, students help draft legislation on a wildlife conservation issue and work to pass it in the New Mexico State Legislature.
The University of New Mexico School of Law is the state of New Mexico's only law school. Established in 1947, it features preeminent programs in Indian and Environmental law.
This resource from the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA’s) Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Animal Care program provides resources, news, and updates on animal welfare legislation, agency actions, emergency programs for pets during disasters, pet importation regulations, educational materials for commercial breeders, and more.
The USDA established the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service in 1972 as its lead agency for safeguarding the health of American agriculture. Their mission protects the health of U.S. agriculture and natural resources against invasive pests and diseases, regulates genetically engineered crops, administers the Animal Welfare Act, and helps people and wildlife coexist. APHIS also certifies the health of U.S. agricultural exports and resolves phytosanitary and sanitary issues to open, expand, and maintain markets for U.S plant and animal products.
This resource from the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA’s) Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service provides information on the Horse Protection Act, a federal law that prohibits sored horses from participating in shows, exhibitions, sales or auctions, its regulations, inspection and enforcement efforts, and avenues to file a complaint.
The USDA established the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) in 1972 as its lead agency for safeguarding the health of American agriculture. Their mission protects the health of U.S. agriculture and natural resources against invasive pests and diseases, regulates genetically engineered crops, administers the Animal Welfare Act, and helps people and wildlife coexist. APHIS also certifies the health of U.S. agricultural exports and resolves phytosanitary and sanitary issues to open, expand, and maintain markets for U.S plant and animal products.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Digest of Federal Resources Laws
The Digest of Federal Resource Laws of Interest to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service was originally published by the Office of Legislative Services (now the Division of Congressional and Legislative Affairs) in 1979. This third update provides a comprehensive list and description of all federal laws under which the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service functions; including Administrative Laws, Treaties, Executive Orders, Interstate Compacts and Memoranda of Agreement.
The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. It is the only agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of these important natural resources for the American public.
This page from the American Veterinary Medical Association provides advocacy information on a variety of horse welfare issues. These range from the inhumane practice of soring, to horse transportation, medical practices, and management of wild horses and burros.
The AVMA is the nation's leading advocate for the veterinary profession. Representing more than 97,000 members, they protect, promote and advance the needs of all veterinarians and those they serve.
Animal Protection Public Policy
Containing the latest news on the current policies of priority to the ASPCA and the organization's legislative efforts on issues such as anti-cruelty laws and their punishments, puppy mills, horse slaughter, animal fighting and factory farms.
The ASPCA (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) is America's first humane society. The ASPCA’s mission, as stated by founder Henry Bergh in 1866, is “to provide effective means for the prevention of cruelty to animals throughout the United States.”
This page from the ASPCA provides an overview of current horse slaughter practices in the United States and legislative action taken to end the practice.
The ASPCA (American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) is America's first humane society. The ASPCA’s mission, as stated by founder Henry Bergh in 1866, is “to provide effective means for the prevention of cruelty to animals throughout the United States.”
Providing news on equine health, care, and ownership. Since 1995, The Horse: Your Guide To Equine Health Care has been essential reading for responsible horse owners and caretakers. Written for hands-on owners and managers of any breed or discipline and overseen by a board of the American Association of Equine Veterinarians (AAEP), this monthly publication provides current, understandable, and practical information on equine health, care, management, and welfare.
Refinement Database - Animal Welfare Institute
This database, created in 2000, is updated every four months with newly published scientific articles, books, and other publications related to improving or safeguarding the welfare of animals used in research.