West Academic Casebooks Archive

This archive brings together thousands of casebooks from West, one of the most prominent legal publishers in the United States. Divided into four series, these casebooks form the backbone of U.S. legal instruction.

Searching

Main Search Bar Tips

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline
Once inside the West Academic Casebooks Archive, the search bar will search only within this database, unless the Search All Databases box is ticked
Need something more robust? Click Advanced Search to perform a search using custom drop-downs
Need a refresher on how to construct a perfect search? Click Search Help for a quick reference guide to commonly used search syntax

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline.

Using the Main Search Bar

For example, enter admiralty into the search bar
- Select where you want to search for this phrase: as an Author, appearing in the Title of any document or article, as a Citation, or in our Catalog as a title. Want to see your search in any of these fields, or appearing in the full text of a document? Select Just search for

Start typing in the main search bar to see search options

Use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow your results by Date, Document Type, Section Type, Location, Title, Organization, or Person
Terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets
Sort search results by relevance, volume date, or title
Save to your MyHein account, email a result, display download options, or download a PDF using the icons on the right side of each search result.
Use the icons next to the sort-by bar to modify your current search, to search within results, to toggle all matching text pages, or to turn OFF infinite scroll

The search results page will show all results with matching text pages showing where in a result the search phrase appears, with options to download a pdf, email the result, or bookmark to MyHein on the right-hand of the results page. Search facets appear on the left-hand side of the page.

Using Advanced Search

Click Advanced Search to be taken to a page with custom facets to help maximize your research within this collection
Use the drop-downs to choose a variety of ways to search: Text, Title, Creator/Author, or Description
- Add another search field if three isn't enough
Select a subcollection to search within, Ctrl + click to select multiple subcollections, or search in all
Pick a title by citation to search within
Restrict results within a date range and change how results are sorted

Three search fields. Two are set to searching within the Text of documents for the terms "art" and "war." Below, a list of all document types. "Nutshell Series" is selected to search only within those documents.

About Venn Diagram Search

Venn Diagram Search offers a visual representation of how search terms interact with each other
Helps users both refine their current search terms and become better researchers going forward
Find the link to Venn Diagram Search on the Advanced Search page
Searches are constructed by stringing together multiple terms separated by the Boolean operator "AND," with phrases grouped together in quotation marks

Results on the right side of the page pertain to the search as we originally constructed it (represented by the red slice in the center of the intersecting circles)
Select Clear for the ability to hover over the different segments of the diagram and see all possible search term combinations from our original query.
In our example, we can see results for:
- insanity AND homicide
- insanity AND murder
- homicide AND murder
- the terms insanity, homicide and murder individually
Sort the results, save or export, turn to the specific page of a result, or start at the beginning of a given title

Three intersecting circles of various sizes representing the terms "insanity," "murder," and "homicide"