Sage Journals

Contemporary Drug Problems

Contemporary Drug Problems is a scholarly journal that publishes peer-reviewed social science research on alcohol and other psychoactive drugs, licit and illicit. The journal’s orientation is multidisciplinary and international; it is open to any research paper contributing to social, cultural, historical, or epidemiological knowledge and theory concerning drug use and related problems. While Contemporary Drug Problems publishes all types of social science research on alcohol and other drugs, it recognizes that innovative or challenging research can sometimes struggle to find a suitable outlet.

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly (NVSQ), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is an international, interdisciplinary journal for nonprofit sector research dedicated to enhancing our knowledge of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and voluntarism by providing cutting-edge research, discussion, and analysis of the field. NVSQ provides a forum for researchers from around the world to publish timely articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.

Criminal Justice Policy Review

Criminal Justice Policy Review (CJPR), published quarterly, is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal committed to the study of criminal justice policy through quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methodological approaches. CJPR serves as a bridge between academics, policymakers, and practitioners by publishing sound research that addresses important issues in crime and justice and examines the implementation and effectiveness of criminal justice policies, programs, and practices.

Police Journal: Theory, Practice and Principles

The Police Journal: Theory, Practice and Principles reflects the constantly changing landscape within which policing operates. This includes diverse social, political, technological, and organizational activities that affect policing in many countries.

European Journal of Criminology

The European Journal of Criminology is a refereed journal published by Sage and the European Society of Criminology. It provides a forum for research and scholarship on crime and criminal justice institutions. The journal publishes high-quality articles using varied approaches, including discussion of theory, analysis of quantitative data, comparative studies, systematic evaluation of interventions, and study of institutions of political process.

Police Quarterly

Police Quarterly (PQ), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is a scholarly journal that publishes theoretical contributions, empirical studies, essays, comparative analyses, critiques, innovative program descriptions, debates, and book reviews on issues related to policing. The only such journal published in North America, PQ seeks to publish both qualitative and quantitative police-related research that emphasizes policy-oriented research of interest to both practitioners and academics.

The Journal of Criminal Law

The Journal of Criminal Law is a practical tool for students, lecturers, and practitioners alike. It provides detailed analysis of what is happening in the courts at every level, from magistrates’ court right up to the House of Lords and the European Court of Human Rights. Case notes, commentary, and articles are all presented in an easy-to-digest format. This journal is for anyone involved in the study, practice, and administration of criminal law.

Crime & Delinquency

Crime & Delinquency (CAD), peer-reviewed and published eight times per year, is a policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice. CAD focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political, and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts, and sanctions.

Journal of Criminology

The Journal of Criminology is an international peer-reviewed journal in the field of criminology. Originally published under the title of the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology, it expressly seeks to publish innovative theoretical, empirical, and policy-oriented research from around the world, while maintaining a strong commitment to high-quality research in the Australasian region.

Crime, Media Culture

Crime, Media Culture is a fully peer-reviewed, international journal providing the primary vehicle for exchange between scholars who are working at the intersections of criminological and cultural inquiry. It promotes a broad cross-disciplinary understanding of the relationship between crime, criminal justice, media, and culture, the nexus of which is embedded in theories of social relations and social change across the full spectrum of social sciences and humanities.

Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency

The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (JRCD), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, offers empirical articles and special issues to keep readers up to date on contemporary issues and controversies in the study of crime and criminal-legal system responses. For more than 60 years, the journal has published work engaging a range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches to advance understanding of crime and violence, victimization, and criminalization processes.

Criminal Justice Review

Criminal Justice Review (CJR) is a scholarly journal dedicated to presenting a broad perspective on criminal justice issues within the domestic United States. CJR offers a forum for social scientists to report research findings for informed policymaking with respect to crime and justice through innovative and advanced methodologies, providing an overview of law, crime, and justice within the United States.

Probation Journal 

Established in 1929, Probation Journal is a leading, peer-reviewed journal that provides a national and international forum for sharing good practice, disseminating high-quality criminal justice research, and developing debate about the theory and practice of work with offenders. The Journal, published in association with Napo, the trade union and professional association for family court and probation staff, is read in 25 countries, and has gained a reputation for publishing quality, accessible content.

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Criminology & Criminal Justice is a leading, peer-reviewed journal of original research and thinking that reflects the vibrancy of the disciplines of criminology and criminal justice throughout the UK and internationally. As the official journal of the British Society of Criminology, Criminology & Criminal Justice publishes interdisciplinary work of the highest quality and academic rigor from around the world, providing an international forum for critical debate and policy discussions.

Punishment and Society

Punishment & Society is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes the highest quality original research and scholarship dealing with punishment, penal institutions, and penal control. The journal’s interdisciplinary focus intersects critical scholarship on the penal field with historical and contemporary analyses of race, class, gender, and ethnicity, while its international scope serves to make it relevant to readers and contributors from all parts of the world.

European Journal of Probation

The European Journal of Probation is a peer-reviewed academic journal aiming to promote comparative research on probation and community justice across Europe. It publishes articles, reviews, and scholarly comments that are of interest to an international audience, representing the major areas of interest in probation while avoiding bias toward any particular schools or directions of research.

Theoretical Criminology

Consistently ranked in the top 12 of its category in the Thomson Scientific Journal Citation Reports, Theoretical Criminology is a major interdisciplinary, international, peer-reviewed journal, concerned with conceptual studies on narratives and myths of crime, punishment, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, gender, race, social regulation, and governance. The journal is committed to advancing the links between criminological analysis and general social, political, and cultural theory.

Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice

Issues in criminal justice are complex, difficult, and often obscure. They can also have immediate and dramatic implications for political action, public policy, and institutional decision-making. The Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice provides in-depth investigation into important criminal justice issues. Each issue of the Journal is guest-edited by an expert in the topic being studied and contains contributions from leading researchers and scholars.

European Journal of Social Security

The European Journal of Social Security (EJSS) is primarily concerned with developments in social security at the EU level and, on a comparative basis, with developments in different European countries. It adopts a broad definition of social security and includes articles on different forms of income maintenance, demography, inequality, poverty, disability, health and social care, employment, migration, taxation, and public expenditure.

New Journal of European Criminal Law

The New Journal of European Criminal Law is the leading international journal on European criminal law. It aims at analyzing, discussing, defining, developing, and improving criminal law in Europe and in particular criminal law as it is drawn up by the European Union and the Council of Europe. The New Journal of European Criminal Law has two patrons: the European Criminal Bar Association (ECBA) and the European Criminal Law Academic Network (ECLAN).

European Labour Law Journal 

The European Labour Law Journal is a peer-reviewed academic journal in the area of European labour law and social policy. European labour law is viewed in a wide sense. It includes labour law at the European Union level as well as labour law in the Member States. Included is also a focus on developments of labour law at a global level, considering its relevance for Europe. Attention is also paid to developments at the level of policy, legislation, case law, and academic doctrine.

Common Law World Review

Common Law World Review seeks to be a forum for in-depth analysis of major legal developments throughout the common law world. To this end, a distinguished team of Corresponding Editors has been brought together to ensure that there is proper consideration of significant legal developments from all parts of the common law world.

International Migration Review

International Migration Review is an interdisciplinary journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative, spatial, social, and cultural aspects of human mobility. It is internationally regarded as the principal journal in the field facilitating the study of human migration, ethnic group relations, and refugee movements.

International Criminal Justice Review

International Criminal Justice Review (ICJR), peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is dedicated to presenting system-wide trends and problems on crime and justice worldwide. ICJR provides a forum for social scientists to report research findings for policymaking with respect to crime and justice through innovative and advanced methodologies. The journal provides a comparative and international overview of law, crime and justice from a cross-cultural perspective.

International Social Work

International Social Work is a scholarly peer-reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare, and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services.

International Journal of Discrimination and the Law

The International Journal of Discrimination and the Law is a peer-reviewed journal which encompasses a wide range of areas of discrimination, including: racism and sex discrimination; the treatment of asylum-seekers and refugees; issues of immigration and nationality; discrimination on grounds of disability, sexual or political orientation, or age and ill-health, in relation to access to employment, housing, education, and other services. The provisions and operation of anti-discrimination law and problems with existing provisions and procedures are critically examined. Reviews of recent literature and decisions from a number of jurisdictions and reports and advanced information on major conferences are also published.

Journal on Migration and Human Security

The Journal on Migration and Human Security (JMHS) is a peer-reviewed public policy publication of the Center for Migration Studies (CMS). The journal’s theme of “human security” is meant to evoke the widely shared goals of creating secure and sustaining conditions in migrant-sending communities; promoting safe, legal migration options; and developing immigration and integration policies that benefit sending and receiving communities and allow newcomers to lead productive secure lives. This thematic focus encompasses the broad scope of the social, political, and economic dimensions of “human security.”

International Journal of Evidence and Proof

The International Journal of Evidence and Proof is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal which aspires to be a truly international, interdisciplinary forum for reporting, evaluating, and debating the latest developments in evidence law, proof, and procedure broadly conceived. E & P aims to publish articles, case notes, and reviews of the highest caliber on any topic of evidentiary significance. Contributions may address any type of legal process (civil, criminal, administrative, disciplinary, etc.), utilizing theoretical, doctrinal, or critical methodologies or perspectives, and may relate to any legal jurisdiction, whether municipal, international regional, or global.

The Prison Journal 

The Prison Journal (TPJ), peer-reviewed and published six times a year, is a central forum for studies, ideas, and discussions of adult and juvenile confinement, treatment interventions, and alternative sanctions. Exploring broad themes of punishment and correctional intervention, TPJ advances theory, research, policy, and practice. The journal also provides descriptive and evaluative accounts of innovative programs and policies, state-of-the-art surveys and reviews, and legal and historical analysis.

International Journal of Police Science & Management

The International Journal of Police Science & Management publishes original empirical work, conceptual articles, and theoretical overviews or reviews, as well as articles on good practice or practice evaluation. It seeks to encourage practitioners as well as academics to submit material for publication with a view to advancing knowledge, disseminating good practice, and fostering the scientific study of the police and policing.

Alternative Law Journal

The Alternative Law Journal (AltLJ) has been Australia’s leading law reform journal for nearly 50 years. It is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal, focusing on issues of social justice and human rights, critique of the legal system, developments in alternative practice, and community legal education. Opinions, regular columns, art, and cartoons are included in addition to articles. AltLJ is published on behalf of the Legal Service Bulletin Co-operative Ltd in Melbourne, Australia.

Law, Culture and the Humanities

Law, Culture and the Humanities publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed work at the intersection of scholarship on law, culture, and the humanities. It provides a publishing vehicle for scholars engaged in interdisciplinary, humanistically oriented legal scholarship, with topics including legal history, legal theory and jurisprudence, law and cultural studies, law and literature, legal hermeneutics, interpretation, identities and values, authority, obligation, speech, justice, and power.

Asian Journal of Legal Education

The Asian Journal of Legal Education has been published since 2014 by the WB National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS), India in association with the Sage. The journal aims to publish scientific works on legal education, clinical legal education, human rights theory and practice, legal ethics, etc. Its editorial board includes several legal scholars from different jurisdictions and assures the highest level of academic and ethical integrity.

The Maastricht Journal of European and Comparative Law

The Maastricht Journal of European and Comparative Law is a unique, peer-refereed journal publishing six issues per year, serving academics and legal practitioners who want to stay informed regarding developments and challenges within the Ius Commune Europaeum (European Common Law). The journal publishes articles, case notes, legal debates, legal developments, and commentaries by leading academics and professionals in the areas of European and Comparative Law.

Federal Law Review

Published since 1964 at the Australian National University, the Federal Law Review (FLR) is recognized as one of Australia’s leading academic law journals. The FLR publishes four issues a year with a themed final issue, all containing high-quality scholarship on matters of public law, both in Australia and elsewhere.

Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights

The Netherlands Quarterly of Human Rights is a leading open-access and peer-reviewed journal that publishes the latest evolutions in the promotion and protection of human rights. Published quarterly since 1981, the journal features articles by pre-eminent and emerging scholars from around the world, addressing and debating human rights law issues from an international perspective. In addition, the Quarterly publishes relevant recent speeches and lectures as well as a section on new literature in the field of human rights.

Antitrust Bulletin

The Antitrust Bulletin publishes quality and learned articles by today’s leading authorities on current topics exploring and related to domestic and global antitrust law, competition policy, and industrial economics for a readership of professional practitioners, academics, policymakers, and students.

ILR Review 

The ILR Review is published by the Cornell University ILR School, which is regarded as the leading academic institution focused on the world of work. The journal is dedicated to international and interdisciplinary research that advances new theory, presents novel empirical work, and informs organizational and public policy.

Common Law World Review

Common Law World Review seeks to be a forum for in-depth analysis of major legal developments throughout the common law world. To this end, a distinguished team of Corresponding Editors has been brought together to ensure that there is proper consideration of significant legal developments from all parts of the common law world.

International Journal of Discrimination and the Law

The International Journal of Discrimination and the Law is a peer-reviewed journal which encompasses a wide range of areas of discrimination, including: racism and sex discrimination; the treatment of asylum-seekers and refugees; issues of immigration and nationality; discrimination on grounds of disability, sexual or political orientation, or age and ill-health, in relation to access to employment, housing, education, and other services. The provisions and operation of anti-discrimination law and problems with existing provisions and procedures are critically examined. Reviews of recent literature and decisions from a number of jurisdictions and reports and advance information on major conferences are also published.

Critical Social Policy: A Journal Theory and Practice in Social Welfare

Critical Social Policy: A Journal Theory and Practice in Social Welfare is a highly ranked, peer-reviewed journal that provides an international forum for advocacy, analysis, and debate on social policy issues. Published quarterly, it aims to develop an understanding of welfare from socialist, feminist, anti-racist, and radical perspectives.

Labor Studies Journal

The Labor Studies Journal is the official journal of the United Association for Labor Education (UALE). It is a multi-disciplinary journal covering issues related to work, workers, labor organizations, and labor studies, and worker education in the US and internationally.

Environmental Law Review

Environmental Law Review has quickly established itself as a forum for critical discussion of current and developing ideas in environmental law. It maintains a dialogue between leading-edge practitioners and academics in the fields of environmental law, environmental management, and business.

Whatever your professional interest, you will benefit from the analyses, criticisms, and recommendations of colleagues and competitors published in Environmental Law Review. The journal will keep you in touch with current issues in UK law and policy, as well as crucial new developments in European and international law.

Social and Legal Studies

Social and Legal Studies was founded in 1992 to develop progressive, interdisciplinary, and critical approaches towards socio-legal study. The heart of the journal has been a commitment towards feminist, post-colonialist, and socialist economic perspectives on law. These remain core animating principles. We aim to create an intellectual space where diverse traditions and critical approaches within legal study meet.

Medical Law International

Medical Law International is an international peer-reviewed journal that seeks to address new and emerging issues in medical law, medical and bioethics, and health governance around the world. The journal has a strong emphasis on international and comparative trends in law and medicine, and the Editors welcome new papers that fall within the aims and scope of the journal.

Medico-Legal Journal

Medico-Legal Journal is dedicated to promoting Medico-Legal knowledge in all its aspects. It provides an official record of the proceedings of the Medico-Legal Society, and a unique collection of contributions and speeches from eminent speakers at society events. In addition to this, the journal seeks to further the society’s aim to expand knowledge of medico-legal matters.

Medicine, Science and the Law 

Medicine, Science and the Law is the official journal of the British Academy for Forensic Sciences (BAFS). It is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the knowledge of forensic science and medicine. The journal aims to inform its readers from a broad perspective and demonstrate the interrelated nature and scope of the forensic disciplines.

Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

Since 1889, The American Academy of Political and Social Science has served as a forum for the free exchange of ideas among the well-informed and intellectually curious. In this era of specialization, few scholarly periodicals cover the scope of societies and politics like The ANNALS. Each volume is guest-edited by outstanding scholars and experts in the topics studied and presents more than 200 pages of timely, in-depth research on a significant topic of concern.

Journal of Conflict Resolution

The Journal of Conflict Resolution is an interdisciplinary journal of social scientific theory and research on human conflict. It focuses largely on international conflict but also explores a variety of national, intergroup, and interpersonal conflicts in a comprehensive, incisive, and interdisciplinary manner.

Comparative Political Studies

For more than 40 years, Comparative Political Studies has been the place to turn for the timeliest information on methodology, theory, and research in the field of comparative politics. The journal publishes 10 issues yearly, each filled with articles that are relevant, cover a wide variety of topics, and are authored by the best people in the field.

Political Theory

Political Theory (PT), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, serves as the leading forum for the development and exchange of political ideas. Broad in scope and international in coverage, PT publishes articles on political theory from a wide range of philosophical, ideological, and methodological perspectives. Articles address contemporary and historical political thought, normative and cultural theory, the history of ideas, and critical assessments of current work.

International Journal

Established in 1946, International Journal (IJ) is the scholarly publication of the Canadian International Council (CIC) and the Bill Graham Centre for Contemporary International History (CCIH). With a focus on global policy analysis, the journal combines insights of history, political science, and economics with anthropology and other social sciences to advance research and dialogue on issues of global significance.