Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Open Society Justice Initiative

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work.

Navigation and Browsing by Publication Type

Collection Overview

Upon arriving in the Open Society Justice Initiative collection, a brief introduction welcomes users and briefly explains the Justice Initiative's work. Within the Open Society Justice Initiative Publications tab, content in the collection is listed alphabetically by title. Use the different browse by options to change how these titles display and easily jump to the content you need with the handy A-Z anchor.

Database landing pageCollection browse by options

Publication Type

While HeinOnline users are familiar with browsing a collection by title, author, date, or subject, unique to the Open Society Justice Initiative collection is the ability to browse titles by Publication Type. The Justice Initiative assigns a publication type to each work it publishes, and those assignments have been preserved here in HeinOnline. Looking for one of the Justice Initiative's briefing papers, providing summaries of matters before various courts? Change the browse by to Publication Type and select Briefing Paper from the list provided. Users will then be redirected to a list of all titles in the collection with this type.

Publication type browse by

From the results, use the options at the top of the page to sort, modify, or search within results. Use the options on the right side of the page to download a pdf, email a result to a friend or colleague, or save results to your personal MyHein research account.

Results from a Publications Type search