Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Open Society Justice Initiative

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work.

Overview

Included in HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite*, free to HeinOnline Core subscribers and any interested organizations.

About the Open Society Justice Initiative

Open Society Justice Initiative Logo

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond its publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Its advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and it supports local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.

Open Society Foundations were founded by George Soros and are the world’s largest private funder of independent groups working for justice, democratic governance, and human rights. Today, the Foundations fund groups and projects in more than 120 countries. More information on the Open Society Justice Initiative and its work can be found at their website at https://www.justiceinitiative.org/

About HeinOnline and the Open Society Justice Initiative

The Open Society Justice Initiative database brings the Justice Initiative’s scholarship to HeinOnline, providing access to works published by the Justice Initiative in HeinOnline’s fully searchable, image-based format. Unique to this collection is the ability to search by Publication Type, a publication identifier assigned by the Justice Initiative to each of its publications, which organizes their works into the following types: Briefing Paper, Publication, and Report. Browse titles in HeinOnline by Publication Type or use the facet to limit search results.

This database, consisting entirely of never-before available titles to HeinOnline, will be updated yearly as new publications are released by the Justice Initiative.

 

Visit Database

 

About HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite

Free of charge to HeinOnline Core subscribers and any interested organizations.

To honor our core value of corporate citizenship, Hein offers five of its databases free of charge to its core American and international subscribers, and to the libraries of any other interested organizations or institutions. This Social Justice Suite consists of the following resources:

Registering for free access to any one of these databases will provide complimentary access to the entire suite. We hope that in making these materials accessible to all, we can help foster knowledge, facilitate civil discourse, and encourage action for the betterment of our nation.

 

From the Pages of The Charleston Advisor:

The SJS (Social Justice Suite) databases contain very timely content on issues regarding civil and human rights, the right to bear arms, and gun violence ... Very relevant and comprehensive content per respective topical areas.
- Winward, Kyle D. "Social Justice Suite." The Charleston Advisor 24, no. 3 (January 2023): 53-57. Advisor Reviews—Standard Review.