Military and Government
HeinOnline Specialist
Additional Resources
This libguide from the United States Military Academy Library provides general resources for research on different topics in military history.
This guide from the National Archives provides sources for researching military history throughout all service branches, including resources on women's service in the armed forces.
This guide from the George Washington University Jacob Burns Law Library identifies legal research resources related to the military, both those that can be located physically in the library and virtually on the web.
From the Library of Congress, this collection includes material from the William Winthrop Memorial Library at the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General’s Legal Center and School External in Charlottesville, Virginia. Selections of their physical library collection have been digitized and made available to the public online, including primary source materials and publications in the field of military law.
The collection is extensive and divided into three categories to best highlight the type of material available: JAG Legal Center & School Materials, Historical Materials, and Military Law and Legislative History.
This guide from the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) collects guides created by libraries in the FDLP community and submitted for use on FDLP LibGuides.
This libguide from the United States Naval Academy provides information on how to conduct research related to military, defense, and security issues, and also includes information on ships and battles.
United States Air Force Academy Special Collections
This libguide from the United States Air Force Academy explores the various special collections held by the libraries at the Academy, including items on aviation history, oral histories, photographs, and manuscripts.
United States Military Legal Resources
The William Winthrop Memorial Library at the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General's Legal Center & School in Charlottesville, VA, holds extensive collections of primary source materials and publications in the field of military law. Selections from these collections are now being made accessible via the Law Library of Congress through the link above.
United States Naval Academy Special Collections & Archives
This libguide explores the Special Collections & Archives Department (SC&A) of Nimitz Library, which contains rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and other documents, as well as the official records (archives) of the U.S. Naval Academy.
This legal report from the Library of Congress provides an overview on the War Powers Resolution, PL 93-148, 87 Stat. 55, which was passed over President Nixon's veto on November 7, 1973. The War Powers Resolution is intended to check the President's power to enter the United States into an armed conflict without the consent of Congress.
The official website of the Army and Air National Guard.
This Department of Defense program provides resources and support for active duty, National Guard, and Reserve service members and their families. Areas of support include family and relationships, moving and housing, education and employment, health and wellness, and more.
This page from the U.S. Department of Defense provides an overview of enlisted and officer insignia used in all the service branches.
The official website of the United States Air Force.
The official website of the United States Army.
The official website of the United States Coast Guard.
The official website of the United States Marine Corps.
The official website of the United States Navy.
The official website of the United States Space Force.
The official blog of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
American Battle Monuments Commission
The American Battle Monuments Commission, established by Congress in 1923, is an agency of the executive branch of the federal government. ABMC—guardian of America’s overseas commemorative cemeteries and memorials—honors the service, achievements, and sacrifice of U.S. Armed Forces. It is responsible for creating and maintaining memorial sites, offering commemorative services, and facilitating the education of their legacy to future generations. The Commission's website also offers an online searchable register of records for those buried and memorialized at World War I and World War II commemorative cemeteries overseas, military cemeteries, along with those names on the Walls of the Missing at the East Coast Memorial, West Coast Memorial, and Honolulu Memorial. Burial information can also be found for those interred at Corozal American Cemetery and Mexico City National Cemetery.
Buddies: Soldiers and Animals in World War II
This post from the National Archives highlights the contributions of animals to the war effort in World War II as presented in the National Archives' exhibit "Buddies: Soldiers and Animals in World War II," a display of thirty-six images taken by government photographers of animal warriors in action.
Congressional Medal of Honor Society
Chartered by Congress in 1958, the Congressional Medal of Honor Society's membership is composed of those awarded the Medal of Honor, our nation's highest military award for valor. The Society's work focuses on education initiatives focused on the Medal of Honor and its recipients; connects recipients with audiences across the country through its Outreach initiatives; preserves the Medal of Honor's dignity and history through its museum, library, archives, and research collection; and supports recipients through health advice and advocacy.
Genealogy Research in Military Records
This article from the National Archives provides an overview of the Archives' holdings of federal military service records, how these records can help in genealogy research, and where to start researching your family's military history.
Let the Records Bark! Personal Stories of Some Special Marines in World War II
This post from the National Archives highlights holdings relating to the Dog Record Books of each canine who enrolled in the Marine Corps from December 15, 1942, to August 15, 1945. These dogs were volunteered by their owners for service in the war. Many were Doberman Pinschers who went to fight with their Marines in the Pacific.
National Museum of the Pacific War
Originally named the Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz Memorial Naval Museum and opened on February 24, 1967, the National Museum of the Pacific War (NMPW) provides the nation's most comprehensive account of World War II in the Asiatic-Pacific theater. The NMPW is located in Fredericksburg, Texas.
National Museum of the U.S. Navy
The flagship museum of the U.S. Navy, the National Museum of the U.S. Navy chronicles the history of the U.S. Navy from its creation to the present. It collects, preserves, displays, and interprets historic naval artifacts and artwork to inform, educate, and inspire naval personnel and the general public. The National Museum of the U.S. Navy is located in Washington, DC.
National WWI Museum and Memorial
The National WWI Museum and Memorial is America's leading institution dedicated to remembering, interpreting, and understanding the Great War and its enduring impact on the global community. The Liberty Memorial, dedicated in 1926 to honor the men and women who served in the war, is the basis for the current museum. Today, the National WWI Museum and Memorial has expanded to include a state-of-the-art museum and the Edward Jones Research Center. It was designated by Congress as the nation's official World War I Museum in 2004. The Museum is located in Kansas City, MO.
Pritzker Military Museum & Library
Founded in 2003, the Pritzker Military Museum & Library features an extensive collection of books, artifacts, and rotating exhibits covering many eras and branches of the military, with a focus on the citizen soldier in the preservation of democracy. The Museum is located in Chicago, IL.