LGBTQ+ Rights
HeinOnline Specialist
Additional Resources
American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU is America's premier civil liberties organization, committed to ensuring every American's right to personal freedom is not infringed. Founded in 1925, the ACLU works on a number of issues, including LGBTQ Rights, Women's Rights, Reproductive Freedom, Prisoners' Rights, and more.
Through strategic litigation, public policy advocacy, and education, GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders (GLAD) works in New England and nationally to create a just society free of discrimination based on gender identity and expression, HIV status, and sexual orientation.
I AM: Trans People Speak is a project to raise awareness about the diversity that exists within transgender communities. It gives a voice to transgender individuals, as well as their families, friends, and allies. It is a project of the Massachusetts Transgender Political Coalition.
Founded in 1973, Lambda Legal is the oldest and largest national legal organization whose mission is to achieve full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people, and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
An affiliate of the American Bar Association, the LGBTQ+ Bar promotes justice in and through the legal profession for the LGBTQ+ community in all its diversity. With over 1700 members, it is the largest LGBTQ+ Bar and Ally Lawyer association in the United States.
LGBTQ Discrimination in the Workplace
This guide from Joseph & Norinsberg LLC provides an overview on the legal aspects of LGBTQ workplace discrimination, how to recognize it, and actions a person may take if they feel they have experienced discrimination.
National Center for Lesbian Rights
NCLR is a national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their families through litigation, legislation, policy, and public education.
National Center for Transgender Equality
The National Center for Transgender Equality was founded in 2003 by transgender activists who recognized the urgent need for policy change to advance transgender equality. It advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
The National LGBTQ Task Force is an activist organization committed to advancing full freedom, justice, and equality for LGBTQ people.
The Transgender Law Center is the largest national trans-led organization advocating self-determination for all people. Founded in 2002, it has grown into the largest trans-specific, trans-led organization in the United States. Their advocacy and precedent-setting litigation victories—in areas including employment, prison conditions, education, immigration, and healthcare—protect and advance the rights of transgender and gender non-conforming people across the country.
Transgender Legal Defense & Education Fund
Founded in 2003, Transgender Legal Defense & Education Fund is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to end discrimination and achieve equality for transgender people, particularly those in our most vulnerable communities. Their strategies include pathbreaking trans rights cases and "friend of the court" briefs regarding the key issues of employment, health care, education, and public accommodations.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
This visual essay by Meg Metcalf at the Library of Congress provides an overview of Pride marches in America.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month
This guide from the Library of Congress collects books, posters, sound recordings, manuscripts and other material produced by, about and for the LGBTQ community.
This guide from the Library of Congress provides an overview to the laws and presidential proclamations which establish and designate Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Pride Month (June).
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) Studies
This research guide from UCLA Library provides an overview of books, articles, websites, and more related to LGBTQ studies.
LGBT Legal Materials: After Obergefell
This research guide from the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law is designed to aid members of the LGBT community and those researching legal issues specific to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people.
This research guide from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law Library identifies resources related to LGBTQ legal issues.
LGBTQ+ Legal Resources: A Beginner's Guide
This Beginner’s Guide from the Library of Congress is intended to simplify this research process, and provide some helpful resources for those interested in the law surrounding gender identity and sexual orientation.
LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive
From the Library of Congress, the LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive captures digital content related to LBGTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics. This archive preserves a representative sample of what is being called "The Rainbow Wave," which refers to the previously unprecedented number of LGBTQ+ identified candidates openly running for office.
LGBTQ+ Resources in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress
From the Library of Congress, this guide serves as an introduction to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and other related (LGBTQ+) resources available in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. Please note that this guide is not intended to be comprehensive, but is a curated list of related collections.
From the Library of Congress, the LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world. Sites include domestic and international non-profit organizations, journalism and news, creative works and expressions, historical records, and more.
This guide from the Federal Depository Library Program collects guides from U.S. libraries related to LGBTQIA+.
LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide
This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress.
This research guide from Northeastern University Library provides online and print resources on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and queer people, gender expression, and sexual identity.
From Yale University, this research guide provides resources on LGBTQIA studies.
Sexual Orientation & the Law Research Guide
This guide from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law Library encompasses several legal subjects—civil rights, criminal law, employment law, immigration, family law—as well as interdisciplinary topics in medicine, psychology, and social sciences as they relate to sexual orientation. It is organized by media type.
Hidden Dangers: How Healthcare Bias Puts LGBTQ+ People of Color at Risk
This article from Dansker & Aspromonte Associates LLP outlines how healthcare biases can lead to personal injury for LGBTQ+ people of color.