Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Legal Classics

An extensive collection featuring thousands of works from some of the greatest legal minds in history.

Browse Contents

This subcollection features a host of teaching materials from Edgar Durfee and John Dawson on the study of remedies, as well as the never-before-published John R. Wilson work, Cases on Remedies

The George Wythe Collection is composed of 160 titles. Although the entire George Wythe Collection is much larger, the HeinOnline set contains mainly law-related content. Assembled in 18th-century Virginia, this collection includes Western classics on history, philosophy, science, mathematics, and law. The books directly impacted the development of Virginia law and the law of the new nation. 

About George Wythe

George Wythe was a Virginia judge, signatory of the Declaration of Independence, and Founding Father of the United States. In 1779, at the College of William & Mary, he became America’s first law professor. Among his apprentices were Thomas Jefferson, John Marshall, and Henry Clay. Close with Jefferson throughout his life, he bequeathed Jefferson his book collection, which Jefferson later sold to form the Library of Congress. 

In cooperation with the College of William & Mary, HeinOnline has re-created Wythe's collection.

 

Bernard Schwartz (1923-1997) was a prolific legal scholar and historian, known especially for his work on American administrative and constitutional law as well as the Supreme Court. His works were intended for both his fellow lawyers and the lay public, seeking to illuminate for all the decision-making process of the Court and the reasoning of Justices as they issued their decisions. 

Schwartz served on the law faculty of New York University (NYU) for 45 years and was a Chapman Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of Tulsa. Over his career, Schwartz authored more than sixty books and hundreds of articles on a myriad of legal topics. In cooperation with the University of Tulsa, a sample of his works—digitized from his personal collection—are provided in HeinOnline’s Legal Classics database.

The Law Academy Project aims to explore the Academy’s history from its beginnings to the mid-twentieth century. Within the database, users will find biographies of the Academy’s leading officers; course pamphlets; annual addresses from noted local, national, and international law experts; as well as other shorter pieces relating to the Academy.