Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection

All available government documents relating to the 1963 John F. Kennedy assassination, including state and local law enforcement materials.

About the John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection

About the John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection

The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 is a public law passed by the U.S. Congress, directing the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) to create a collection of records known as the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection. The act stated that this collection must consist of all U.S. government documents relating to the 1963 assassination of President John F. Kennedy, including any state or local law enforcement materials.

In October of 2017, President Donald Trump directed the National Archives to release the materials that were previously withheld. Following the latest release in April 2018, the collection now consists of nearly 50,000 documents, including FBI, CIA, and other government agency materials relating to the event. 

HeinOnline has organized and indexed all of this material to make these recently released documents easy to navigate and use. Also find supplemental material such as books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on the topic.

A Note on Future Releases

According to the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), there are a total of 5 million pages which make up the JFK Assassination Records Collection, but some documents remain classified until 2021. The President has determined that all documents which remain withheld will be reviewed again before October 26, 2021. 

HeinOnline will continue to add any new documents as soon as they are released by the NARA.