Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
Overview
We are now proud to offer IFLP Alerts, a customized email notification tool to provide your with indexed articles tailored to your research preferences.
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is the preeminent multilingual legal journal index to articles and book reviews appearing in more than 800 legal journals published worldwide.
Composed of more than 400,000 index records, IFLP truly covers the world by providing in-depth coverage of topics including:
- International law
- Comparative law
- Common law
- Civil law
- U.S. law
- Law of most jurisdictions
- And much more!
IFLP also analyzes the contents of selected individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
Why use an index?
With the internet at our fingertips, we have become used to finding answers fast. However, a Google search won’t always provide the most reliable information. And when you run a keyword search in a full-text database, you’re likely to pull thousands of articles, of which only a couple may be relevant to your research.
Enter the index, a valuable tool for helping you quickly retrieve the resources you need. Because indexes aren’t full text, they will only provide results that match your keyword search in the title, abstract, or author, which means you’re much more likely to find articles relevant to your research, rather than articles that may simply mention your search term one or two times.
With fewer yet higher quality results yielded from an index, you can spend less time searching—and more time learning.
Features included in the Index:
- Fully-searchable indexing from 1985 forward
- Multilingual index with 26 languages covered
- Full-text linking to nearly 80,000 articles and book reviews
- Access to the digitized version of the entire print Index dating back to 1960
- ISSN & ISBN linking to your local library catalog or WorldCat
- OpenURL linking to resources at your library
- Ability to quickly view all articles indexed by a specific author
- Ability to save/bookmark index records to a MyHein personal research account
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a useful research tool not just for academics! The broad range of legal literature indexed exposes the researcher to different perspectives covering a range of diverse subjects.
Academics, practitioners, and researchers can use IFLP to
- Conduct in-depth research
- Create bibliographies
- Locate experts or subject specialists (great for faculty recruitment!)
- When print collection not available
- Practice language abilities
“IFLP is a terrific resource. We use it to find articles by specific authors, find articles in specific languages or concerning a certain country. I really like the You may want to look at these subjects as well feature. We think it’s a very helpful search tool for the Foreign Legal Periodicals.
Hein’s Law Journal Library is so large that it’s important to have many different methods to search it, as with a simple search what you are really looking for can be buried under the many results. I particularly like the subject search in IFLP because it suggests different subgroups and tells you what types of materials will be found there in different languages.”
- Law Firm Librarian