History of Supreme Court Nominations

Kavanaugh Project

From the University of Virginia School of Law, this site provides an entry point into the opinions of Brett Kavanaugh during his tenure on the United States Court of Appeals District of Columbia Circuit.

Supreme Court Confirmation Hearing Transcripts, As Data

This resource displays the text of every Supreme Court confirmation hearing for which Senate Judiciary Committee  transcripts are available (beginning in 1971 with hearings for Lewis Powell and William Rehnquist and concluding with Neil Gorsuch’s 2017 hearing). Although other transcripts of these hearings exist, this database is unique in that it is fully searchable, customizable and user-friendly. For example, each time someone speaks, it is indicated on the next line of text. Each line of text is accompanied by information including the year of the hearing, the nominee in question, the name and title of the speaker, the speaker’s political party and the full text of the statement.

Supreme Court Nominations (1789-Present)

From the official website of the United States Senate, this chart lists nominations to the Supreme Court officially submitted to the Senate.

Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide

This libguide from Georgetown Law Library explains the nomination process and suggests resources for further research into the nominations of more recently confirmed Supreme Court Justices.

Supreme Court of the United States

The official website of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Supreme Court Research Guide

This libguide from Georgetown Law Library provides background information and suggests resources for further research on the history of the U.S. Supreme Court, the justices of the Court, and the Court's practice and decisions.

U.S. Supreme Court Nominations (Library of Congress)

Guide to the publications by and concerning nominees to the Supreme Court from 2005 to the present, including nomination and other congressional documents

United States Supreme Court Nominations Web Archive

This archive from the Library of Congress consists of blogs, academic articles, Congressional press releases, and media articles related to the nominations of John Roberts, Harriet Miers, Samuel Alito, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan for the United States Supreme Court. This content covers the years 2005, 2006, 2009, and 2010.