Hackney Publications

ADA @ Sports - New

ADA @ Sports offers in-depth insights into the intricate relationship between the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the sports world. The journal covers a range of topics, from discrimination lawsuits involving youth sports teams to the legal landscape surrounding athlete mental health. It sheds light on real-world cases highlighting ADA violations alleged against sports teams and stadiums. The publication also features expert opinions and detailed analyses of ADA-related issues in sports. Whether it’s understanding the rights of disabled athletes, exploring the nuances of ADA compliance in sports facilities, or delving into the challenges faced by athletes with mental health conditions, ADA @ Sports serves as a comprehensive resource for professionals, advocates, and enthusiasts alike.

Agents @ Sports Law - New

Delve deep into the intricate world of sports law, particularly focusing on the legal intricacies surrounding agents and their interactions within the sports industry, with Agents @ Sports Law. The journal sheds light on various cases, from financial dealings between agents and student-athletes to the challenges faced by NFL agents during their annual recruitment cycles. It also touches upon the ethical and legal boundaries that agents must navigate, especially in the context of collegiate and professional sports transitions.

Antitrust @ Sports Law - New

Explore the legal issues surrounding antitrust laws and their intersection with the sports industry. Antitrust @ Sports Law offers in-depth analyses of cases, decisions, and events that shape the landscape of competition within sports. The journal not only provides insights into the legalities but also sheds light on the essence of competition inherent in sports. It serves as a comprehensive resource for professionals, scholars, and enthusiasts who wish to stay updated on the evolving dynamics of antitrust laws in the realm of sports.

Concussion Defense Reporter

Concussion Defense Reporter publishes articles, case summaries, and news concerning the defense of concussion lawsuits, whether they arise at the professional, collegiate, high school, or amateur levels.

Concussion Litigation Reporter

Concussion Litigation Reporter is published monthly. Each issue provides case summaries and timely reporting on developments and strategies in the emerging legal practice area of sports concussions.

Contract Law @ Sports - New

Contract Law @ Sports provides comprehensive coverage of notable legal cases, disputes, and developments where contracts play a pivotal role in the sports realm. From high-profile disputes involving renowned athletes to the nuanced intricacies of athlete activism’s impact on brand contracts, the publication provides a thorough examination of legal challenges and implications. Each issue features expert analyses and case studies, ensuring readers are well-informed about the latest trends and legal precedents regarding the confluence of contract law and sports.

Esports and the Law

Esports and the Law is a must-read publication for news, case summaries, and articles concerning the legal aspects of esports and a provider of strategies for game publishers, leagues, teams, facilities, sponsors, and event promoters.

Gender Issues @ Sports Law - New

Gender Issues @ Sports Law is dedicated to exploring the multifaceted dimensions of gender as it intersects with the sports industry. The journal delves into pressing topics such as gender inequalities in college athletics, disparities in facilities and resources between men’s and women’s sports, and the broader implications of gender bias in the sports world. With contributions from experts in the field, it offers insights into the legal frameworks, including Title IX of the Education Amendments and NCAA regulations, that govern gender equity in sports. The journal also highlights proactive measures that institutions can adopt to address gender discrimination, ensuring a more inclusive and equitable sports environment.

Insurance @ Sports Law - New

The legal landscape surrounding insurance as it pertains to the sports industry is ever-evolving—and Insurance @ Sports Law seeks to examine real-world cases to provide readers with a nuanced understanding of the challenges and intricacies faced by sports entities in their insurance claims. From exploring the definitions of ‘physical’ and ‘direct’ in insurance contracts to understanding the implications of government orders on business operations, the journal serves as a vital resource for professionals navigating the complex interplay between insurance policies and sports-related incidents, whether it’s a professional sports team seeking to recoup losses due to unforeseen events or the implications of new policies on athlete endorsements.

Intellectual Property @ Sports Law - New

Intellectual Property @ Sports Law is a specialized publication that offers in-depth insights into the intricate world of intellectual property within the sports industry. With contributions from legal experts and industry professionals, this journal covers a range of topics, from trademark infringement cases involving sports teams to the legal intricacies of name, image, and likeness activities with student-athletes. The journal also addresses issues such as the unauthorized use of university color schemes in advertising campaigns, the importance of monitoring licensing agreements, and the potential legal challenges that arise in the ever-evolving landscape of sports and intellectual property.

Journal of NCAA Compliance

Journal of NCAA Compliance was founded in 2006, initially in partnership with Florida Coastal School of Law. JONC is published bi-monthly and discusses the myriad issues in the growing field of NCAA compliance. JONC includes interviews with leaders among compliance professionals as well as peer-reviewed articles written by an expert in the field.

Labor Law @ Sports Law - New

Explore the intersection of labor and employment laws with the dynamic world of sports. Labor Law @ Sports not only tracks legal issues but also provides in-depth analyses of cases, controversies, and legal challenges faced by stakeholders in the sports industry. From examining the rights and responsibilities of employees and employers to exploring cases of discrimination, harassment, and retaliation within sports organizations, this journal offers a comprehensive look at the evolving legal scenarios in the sports sector, providing readers with a thorough understanding of the intricacies at play.

Legal Issues in Collegiate Athletics

Legal Issues in Collegiate Athletics is a narrowly focused monthly newsletter that monitors case law and legal developments at the intersection of sports and the higher education industry. Each month, LICA provides summaries and analyses of court opinions as well as stories about legal issues that have an impact on the typical college athletic department or general counsel responsible for athletics.

Legal Issues in High School Athletics

Legal Issues in High School Athletics is published once every two months. It provides the latest case law and analysis of legal issues that confront high school athletic directors, district superintendents, state high school athletic associations, and school board attorneys.

My Legal Bookie

My Legal Bookie provides insights into the legal side of online gaming and sports betting industries, delivering compelling content from Hackney Publications Editor in Chief Ellen M. Zavian, a Professorial Lecturer in Law at the George Washington University Law School and nationally recognized sports law attorney Jeff Ifrah and the rest of his team at Ifrah Law. In each issue, you’ll get case summaries, articles about lawsuits, and insightful interviews.

NIL Institutional Report - New

Explore the intricacies of Name, Image, and Likeness (NIL) in collegiate athletics with the NIL Institutional Report. Spearheaded by industry experts, the journal offers in-depth analyses on the intersection of technology and NIL, the pivotal role of financial literacy for student-athletes, the dynamics of agent involvement, and the impact of NIL on diversity in collegiate sports. With features on specific universities’ NIL strategies, legal perspectives, and expert interviews, it stands as an essential resource for collegiate athletics stakeholders, from administrators to student-athletes.

Professional Sports and the Law

Professional Sports and the Law delivers summaries of important court decisions, expert legal analyses, and relevant sports law articles to attorneys and other executives who work in-house for professional sports teams. PSL is an electronic publication that is emailed to recipients every two months.

Race @ Sports Law - New

Offering in-depth analyses of racial discrimination cases in collegiate and professional sports, Race @ Sports serves as a comprehensive resource for understanding the intersection of race, law, and sports. It provides insights into recent court decisions, offers expert opinions, and features interviews with prominent figures in the sports law domain, while highlighting significant cases, legal challenges, and the evolving dynamics of race in the sports industry.

Racing @ Sports Law - New

Racing @ Sports Law is meticulously curated to delve into the legal issues surrounding the racing industry, both automotive and beyond. From the nuances of intellectual property rights in racing to detailed case studies, the journal offers a blend of legal insights and real-world implications. Articles are penned by legal experts, ensuring accuracy and authority in the information presented. Whether it’s the exploration of contractual disputes in Formula One or the implications of new NASCAR rules, Racing @ Sports Law serves as an essential resource for professionals, enthusiasts, and scholars keen on understanding the legal landscape of racing in the sports industry.

Sports Facilities and the Law

Sports Facilities and the Law is published bi-monthly. It is a one-stop publication for news, case summaries, articles, and strategies to understand legal concerns and help create strategies to successfully deal with the challenges facing arenas, stadiums, recreation and fitness facilities, whether at the professional, collegiate, high school, or amateur levels. The goal of the journal is not just to inform but also to help share solutions.

Sports Litigation Alert

Sports Litigation Alert helps attorneys and other legal professionals stay abreast of sports law developments with the industry’s only bi-weekly newsletter devoted exclusively to the field. Sports Litigation Alert tracks legal developments as they occur in amateur and professional athletics as well as legislative issues that impact legal professionals.

Sports Medicine and the Law

Sports Medicine and the Law offers a wealth of case summaries, strategies, articles and more relating to the intersection of law and sports medicine at all levels—amateur, high school, collegiate, and professional.

Title IX Alert

Title IX Alert analyzes and informs readers of developments relating to collegiate athletics and Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972, legislation that prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in educational activities.

Torts @ Sports Law - New

Torts @ Sports Law offers readers a comprehensive examination of legal issues that arise at the intersection of tort law and the sports industry. The journal covers a range of topics, from negligence claims involving college basketball players to the responsibilities of school districts in ensuring the safety of their student-athletes. Each article is meticulously researched, providing accurate and authoritative information on the subject matter and emphasizing the importance of understanding the legal implications of actions within the sports realm while promoting the safe and ethical conduct of all parties involved.