Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Criminal Justice & Criminology

This collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes.

About the Database

Navigating the Collection

Want to know a secret about our Criminal Justice & Criminology collection? This collection was created after a major overhaul of a previous HeinOnline collection, Criminal Justice in America: U.S. Attorney General Opinions, Reports, and Publications. So if you're wondering where Criminal Justice in America went, all the content from that collection is still there under this new name, but with more content than you had before! Criminal Justice & Criminology has an expanded focus beyond the work of the U.S. Department of Justice, focusing on how criminal justice systems have changed in American and English law over time through advances in technology and changes in thinking, many of which happened because of the work of criminologists. To explore these fields, we collected together congressional hearings, U.S. Department of Justice publications, GAO and CRS reports as well as rare or hard-to-find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals. Access periodicals dedicated solely to criminal justice and browse a list of external links to take your research beyond HeinOnline.

Upon arriving in the collection, users are greeted by an introduction explaining the scope and history of these two topics. Navigate using the tabs at top of the page. To further help users find content, every title has been subject coded into distinct, collection-specific subjects. Keep reading for an in-depth explanation of this feature and the methodology used when assigning these subjects.

 

Subjects

Access the list of 16 subjects specific to Criminal Justice & Criminology by navigating to the Subject browse by option under All Titles. Click any subject to be taken to a list of titles that fall under its scope. Let's explore these topics, the methodology used when assigning subjects, as well as sample some of the titles available.

Attorney General

Find publications published by the U.S. Attorney General's Office, titles about the U.S. Attorney General, and titles on or about the U.S. Justice Department. We think you'll particularly enjoy:

Crimes and Criminals

Access a bibliographic rogues' gallery of criminal exploits from history and the not-so-distant past, as well as publications on specific crimes not covered under their own dedicated topic. We're thrilled and chilled by:

Criminal Statistics

Track changes in crime in the United States with raw data from Bureau of Justice statistics and other law enforcement agencies. We think you should crunch these numbers:

Criminology

Explore how attitudes and trends in criminology have changed with these titles:

Drug Enforcement

Drug control has been a dominant focal point of the U.S. criminal justice system since the Nixon administration. Explore these policies with:

Government Law

Read congressional hearings and analyses on specific laws proposed to fight crime in the United States.

Investigation and Forensics

Find documents relating to the advent of fingerprinting, the evolution of DNA testing, and other technological advances in criminal investigation. We dusted for clues and uncovered these hidden gems:

Juvenile Justice

Preventing kids from engaging in criminal and delinquent behavior, what may contribute to that behavior, and the appropriate response to young offenders are issues that have bedeviled generations, as shown by these titles:

Law and Procedure

Find titles that either deal broadly with how justice is administered or focus on a particular aspect of the criminal justice system.

Law Enforcement

These titles either focus on specific law enforcement agencies and policing policies as well as tell some real-life detective stories.

Organized Crime

We'll make you an offer you can't refuse with access to some of the ways law enforcement has dealt with organized crime and even some tales of gangsters' exploits.

Penology

Penology refers to the study of punishment. It encompasses the methods of punishment as well as attitudes towards those methods. Under this subject users can track historical changes in methods of punishment and can find works on prison, parole, capital punishment, and even forced sterilization.

Reform and Recidivism

This topic collects titles concerned with addressing issues around individuals who reoffend (recidivists) and how to successfully reintegrate individuals into society upon completion of their sentence.

Reminiscences

Sit down with Scotland Yard detectives, criminals, police court reporters, and lawyers as they recount their personal experiences with the criminal justice system.

Sex Crimes

Works under this category address criminal justice issues around rape and sexual assault. Selected titles include:

Victimology

Victimology is a subset of criminology that focuses on the impact crime has on victims. It focuses on the relationship between an offender and his victim and the victim and the criminal justice system, including victims rights and the lasting effect of crime on a victim. Explore this topic with:

Department of Justice (DOJ) Publications

Users can also easily access publications from the U.S. Department of Justice by navigating to the Department of Justice (DOJ) Publications tab. Highlights within this tab include:

Congressional Hearings, CRS and GAO Reports on Criminal Justice & Criminology

Access congressional hearings covering all criminal justice subjects by navigating to the dedicated Congressional Hearings tab. We've also collected all CRS Reports and GAO Reports within HeinOnline on criminal justice into their own tabs. Easily navigate content using the A-Z anchors within every subcollection.

About the Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The Congressional Research Service is a public policy research institute of the United States Congress. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives through reports, seminars and workshops, and congressional testimony. Their job is to help Congress form sound policies based on analysis and research. Access CRS Reports on topics other than criminal justice by navigating to HeinOnline’s U.S. Congressional Documents database and selecting the CRS Reports subcollection.

About the Government Accountability Office (GAO)

Headed by the Comptroller General of the United States, the Government Accountability Office (GAO) is a legislative branch agency which provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for the U.S. Congress. The GAO produces reports and written correspondence, testimonies and statements for the record, briefings for congressional staff members, and more. Access GAO Reports on topics other than criminal justice through HeinOnline's dedicated GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database.