Case Law (Powered by CourtListener)
HeinOnline Specialist
Using Case Law Premium
Case Law Premium Features
For in-depth instructions on utilizing the Case Law Premium features, navigate through the tabs on this page.
Citation Searching
Already have the citation? Simply enter it into HeinOnline’s one-box search, choose Citation from the drop-down menu, and hit search. You’ll be taken straight to the case you need, fast and hassle-free.
In-line Hyperlinking
When browsing articles and documents in HeinOnline, researchers will notice that case citations are highlighted in blue. These indicate active hyperlinks to the corresponding case in CourtListener. Simply click the link to view the full case.
ScholarCheck Integration
Instantly see how many articles within HeinOnline cite a particular case, giving you critical insight into its scholarly impact. Go further by exploring which other cases have cited the decision, helping you quickly identify influential authorities and track the evolution of legal precedent.
Full-Text & Metadata Searching
Search across the complete text of all included cases, or narrow your focus using detailed metadata fields such as case name, party, court, and more. Whether you’re conducting broad research or drilling into a specific legal issue, this feature ensures you can quickly locate the most relevant and authoritative cases to support your work.
Case Law in Global Search Results
Take your research further without changing the way you work. With Case Law Premium, relevant case law is automatically included in your HeinOnline global search results, appearing right alongside articles, government documents, and other authoritative sources.
Downloading and Printing PDFs
Users may click "PDF/Download" from a specific case to quickly obtain a printable document.
Citation Searching
Cases can also be accessed by entering the proper Bluebook citation into the search bar and selecting Citation from the drop-down.
From the Main Search Bar:
From the HeinOnline welcome page or inside any HeinOnline database, type or copy and paste the proper case citation into the search bar and click the Citation option. Users will be directed to the full text of the case.
From the Advanced Search Citation Naviator:
From the Advanced Search screen, scroll down to Citation Navigator and enter the case citation in the search box.
In-Line Hyperlinking
Case citations referenced in the text of any article, case, or other document in HeinOnline will link to the case in CourtListener. Links will be highlighted in blue.
Clicking on the link will pull in the full text of the cited case. Cases and articles included in the HeinOnline database will link to HeinOnline PDF images. Cases available via CourtListener will display HTML text (seen below).
ScholarCheck Integration
HeinOnline's ScholarCheck feature is enhanced with Case Law Premium. The feature works with CourtListener cases to determine how many articles and cases in HeinOnline cite that particular case.
Click on either "Cited by Articles" or "Cited by Cases" to view the list of citations for the case in question. The same hyperlinks appear in search results.
Full-Text and Metadata Searching
With Case Law Premium, selecting Case Law Premium (Powered by CourtListener) from the list of available databases will produce the search tool, enabling the user to search the full text and metadata of all cases included in Case Law Premium. Options to search by Case Name, Citation, Party, Court, and more are available by using the drop-down menu highlighted below.
Cases Law in Global Search Results
Case law is also included in the search results across all subscribed databases in HeinOnline. For example, search for "Tasini v. New York Times Co." from the welcome page.
The facets on the left side of the screen, used for narrowing search results, will include "Cases" as a category.
Downloading & Printing PDFs
When viewing a CourtListener case, the PDF download or print option is available in the upper right-hand corner.
Two options may appear:
- Case Law PDF: This is a PDF of the HTML page you are viewing
- Case Law Scan: This is the authoritative scan of the case with redactions
