ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals
A digital collection comprised of all current and historical periodicals from the American Bar Association, featuring 44 titles previously only available to ABA section members.
HeinOnline Specialist
Search Tips
Main Search Bar Tips
- The one-box search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline
- Once inside the ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals database, the search bar will search only within this database, unless the Search All Databases box is ticked
- Need something more robust? Click Advanced Search to perform a search using custom drop-downs
- Need a refresher on how to construct a perfect search? Click Search Help for a quick reference guide to commonly used search syntax
For example, enter the query "private merger" AND antitrust AND challeng* into the one-search bar.
- Select where you want to search for this phrase: as an Author, appearing in the Title of any document or article, as a Citation, or in our Catalog as a title. Want to see your search in any of these fields, or appearing in the full text of a document? Select Just search for
- Use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow your results by Date, PathFinder Subjects, Section Type, Location, Title, Organization, Person, or Edit Type
- Terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets
- Sort search results by relevance, volume date, or title
- Save to your MyHein account, email a result, display download options, or download a PDF using the icons on the right side of each search result
- Use the icons next to the sort-by bar to modify your current search, to search within results, to toggle all matching text pages, or to turn OFF infinite scroll
Using Advanced Search
- Click Advanced Search to be taken to a page with custom facets to help maximize your research within this collection
- Use the drop-downs to choose a variety of ways to search: Text, Title, Creator/Author, Description, or Date
- Add another search field if three isn't enough
- Select a Document Type to search within
- Pick a title by citation to search within
- Restrict results within a date range and change how results are sorted
About Venn Diagram Search
- Venn Diagram Search offers a visual representation of how search terms interact with each other
- Helps users both refine their current search terms and become better researchers going forward
- Find the link to Venn Diagram Search on the Advanced Search page
- Searches are constructed by stringing together multiple terms separated by the Boolean operator "AND," with phrases grouped together in quotation marks
- Results on the right side of the page pertain to the search as we originally constructed it (represented by the red slice in the center of the intersecting circles)
- Select Clear for the ability to hover over the different segments of the diagram and see all possible search term combinations from our original query
- In our example, we can see results for:
- "private merger" AND litigation
- "private merger" AND antitrust
- antitrust AND litigation
- the terms "private merger," antitrust and litigation individually
- Sort the results, save or export, turn to the specific page of a result, or start at the beginning of a given title
Keyword Search Builder
The Keyword Search Builder is located within the Advanced Search option of ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals.
From here, enter keywords into one or more boxes and use the boost levels to give more weight to the most important terms in the query. Additionally, you can enter a specific date range for your query.
This tool compares all articles in HeinOnline and ranks them in order based on the chosen keywords. Results include the top 50 most relevant articles available in HeinOnline.
