Skip to Main Content
HeinOnline

UK Parliamentary & Government Publications (Public Information Online)

In collaboration with Dandy Booksellers, this database is a comprehensive archive of documents from the UK Parliament, such as papers, bills, acts, and key non-Parliamentary and Scottish government publications.

Documents

UK Parliament

Featured titles in this subcollection include:

Command Papers

  • set out major government initiatives or policy proposals to Parliament
  • called "Command Papers" because each document contains the wording "Presented to Parliament by Command of His/Her Majesty"
  • papers are usually numbered and typically fall under the following categories:
    • major policy proposals ("white papers")
    • consultation documents ("green papers")
    • state papers
    • responses to select committees and consultations
    • independent reviews
    • treaties
    • draft bills
 Title page of command paper on the Suez Canal, dated September 1956

Hansard

  • an official report of Parliament's proceedings
  • coverage extends back to 1803
  • a full report of all speakers in the House of Commons and House of Lords (although not always a verbatim transcript)
  • published daily
  • takes its name from Thomas Hansard, the printer to the House of Commons in the early 19th century
 Title page of parliamentary debates from 1889

 

Scottish Parliament

The modern Scottish Parliament was established in 1999. It is the devolved national legislature of Scotland. Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) are democratically elected to five-year terms. 

The original Parliament of Scotland existed from the early 13th century, when Scotland was an independent kingdom, until it merged with England under the Acts of Union 1707 to form Great Britain.

Under devolution, the Scottish Parliament makes decisions on certain issues without needing approval from the UK Parliament.

  • reserved matters are issues that are the sole responsibility of the UK Parliament
  • sometimes, the UK Parliament will make laws for Scotland on devolved issues but usually only with agreement from the Scottish Parliament

Devolved matters under power of the Scottish Parliament include:

  • Agriculture
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Fire services
  • Health and Social Services
  • Housing
  • Tourism

Content in this subcollection includes:

  • Acts
  • Bills
  • Explanatory notes
  • Minutes of proceeding
  • Official reports
  • Papers

 

Scottish Government

The Scottish Government implements the laws passed by the Scottish Parliament.

  • formed from the party or parties that hold the most seats in the Scottish Parliament
  • introduces most of the bills considered by Parliament
  • made up of the First Minister (who is the head of the Government), Cabinet Secretaries, and Cabinet Ministers

Content in this subcollection covers a diverse array of topics, including:

  • Arts and Culture
  • Crime, Law, and Justice
  • Marine and Fisheries
  • Science and Technology
  • Sports
  • Vaccination

Northern Ireland Assembly

The Northern Ireland Assembly is the devolved legislature for Northern Ireland. The modern Northern Ireland Assembly was established in 1998. It is made up of 90 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) that are elected by the public.

Under devolution, the Northern Ireland Assembly makes decisions on certain issues (known as transferred matters) without needing approval from the UK Parliament.

  • excepted matters are issues that are the sole responsibility of the UK Parliament
  • reserved matters are issues still handled by the UK Parliament but that may be transferred to the Northern Ireland Assembly

Transferred matters under power of the Northern Ireland Assembly include:

  • Agriculture and Environment
  • Cconomy and Finance
  • Education
  • Health
  • Infrastructure

Content in this subcollection includes:

  • Acts
  • Bills
  • Committee reports
  • Explanatory notes
  • Official reports (Hansard)

Welsh Parliament (Senedd)

The modern Welsh Parliament, commonly known as the Senedd was established in 1999. It is the devolved national legislature of Wales. Members of the Senedd (MSs) are democratically elected to five-year terms. 

Under devolution, the Welsh Parliament has full primary law-making powers over certain areas.

  • reserved matters are issues that are the sole responsibility of the UK Parliament
  • the Senedd passes primary legislation that applies to Wales except for reserved matters
  • sometimes, the UK Parliament will make laws for Wales on devolved issues but usually only with agreement from the Senedd

Devolved matters under power of the Welsh Parliament include:

  • Health
  • Education
  • Culture
  • Tourism
  • Local government

Content in this subcollection includes:

  • Acts
  • Bills
  • Committee reports
  • Explanatory notes

Key Non-Parliamentary Papers

These published and unpublished non-parliamentary papers include official departmental reports, technical papers, research reports, annual reports, and statistical research.

Content in this subcollection covers a diverse array of topics, including:

  • Building and Construction
  • Central Government
  • Defence
  • Employment and Working Conditions
  • Entertainment and Sports
  • Libraries, Museums and Galleries