National Defense University Press Publications

This collection features publications by National Defense University Press, focusing on academic and military research in defense, national security, and American foreign policy.

Searching

Main Search Bar Tips

The main search bar is stationary throughout HeinOnline
Once inside the National Defense University Press Publications database, the search bar will search only within this database, unless the Search All Databases box is ticked
Need something more robust? Click Advanced Search to perform a search using custom drop-downs
Need a refresher on how to construct a perfect search? Click Search Help for a quick reference guide to commonly used search syntax

Screenshot of one-box search on main page of National Defense University Press Publications page.

Using the Main Search Bar

For example, enter the phrase "hybrid warfare" inside quotation marks into the search bar
- Select where you want to search for this phrase: as an Author, appearing in the Title of any document or article, as a Citation, or in our Catalog as a title. Want to see your search in any of these fields, or appearing in the full text of a document? Select Just search for

Screenshot of the a search for "hybrid warfare" on the main page of the collection.

Use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow your results by Subjects, Date, Document Type, Section Type, Location, Title, Organization, and/or Person.
Terms matching the search query appear in bold text within the matching text page snippets
Sort search results by relevance, volume date, or title
Save to your MyHein account, email a result, display download options, or download a PDF using the icons on the right side of each search result
Use the icons next to the sort-by bar to modify your current search, to search within results, to toggle all matching text pages, or to turn OFF infinite scroll

Screenshot of search results page, featuring results for a search for "hybrid warfare" in the National Defense University Press Publications collection.

Using Advanced Search

Click Advanced Search to be taken to a page with custom facets to help maximize your research within this collection
Use the drop-downs to choose a variety of ways to search: Text, Title, or Creator/Author
- Add another search field if three isn't enough
Select a subcollection to search within, Ctrl + click to select multiple subcollections, or search in all
Pick a title by citation to search within
Restrict results within a date range and change how results are sorted

Screenshot of Advanced Search page, with red rectangles around a search for the terms "hyrbid warfare" and "drones," and around a menu of document selection options.

About Venn Diagram Search

Venn Diagram Search offers a visual representation of how search terms interact with each other
Helps users both refine their current search terms and become better researchers going forward
Find the link to Venn Diagram Search on the Advanced Search page
Searches are constructed by stringing together multiple terms separated by the Boolean operator "AND," with phrases grouped together in quotation marks

Screenshot of Venn Diagram search page in the collection, showing the results of a search for the terms "hybrid warfare," "drones," and "Black Sea"

Results on the right side of the page pertain to the search as we originally constructed it (represented by the red slice in the center of the intersecting circles)
Select Clear for the ability to hover over the different segments of the diagram and see all possible search term combinations from our original query
In our example, we can see results for:
- "hybrid warfare" AND drones
- "hybrid warfare" AND "Black Sea"
- "Black Sea" AND drones
- "hybrid warfare" AND drones AND "Black Sea"
- the terms "hybrid warfare," drones and "Black Sea" individually
Sort the results, save or export, turn to the specific page of a result, or start at the beginning of a given title