Labor and Employment: The American Worker
HeinOnline Specialist
Additional Resources
Center for Labor Education & Research Timeline of United States Labor History (Univ. of Hawai'i)
This simple timeline provides a clear overview of U.S. labor history from 1648 to 2018.
Employment & Labor Law: A Beginner's Guide (Library of Congress)
This guide provides an overview of secondary and primary sources related to Employment and Labor Law, such as discrimination, harassment, compensation, and unionization.
Employment & Labor Law Research Guide (Univ. of Cincinnati Law Library)
This guide provides a quick overview of general and law materials related to labor and employment law. It covers browsing for materials by call number range, textbooks, treatises, statutory law, administrative materials, news and forms. The guide can be used by students, faculty members, lawyers, and the general public.
Employment & Labor Law Research Guide (USC Gould School of Law)
This guide is a starting point for research relating to U.S. federal and California state labor and employment law. This guide includes both primary and secondary materials and covers topics on employment discrimination, labor arbitration, and workplace health and safety.
Labor & Employment Law (Univ. of Chicago Law School)
This guide provides information and resources regarding labor and employment law, including relevant statutes, regulations, journal articles, how to find case law and statistics, practice guides and forms, and news.
Labor and Employment Law (Cornell University)
This guide has been created to help ILR students, faculty, and staff research labor and employment law.
Labor and Employment Law Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library)
This guide is a starting point for research in U.S. federal labor and employment law, including employment discrimination, labor arbitration, labor relations, and workplace health and safety.
Labor History (Univ. of Washington, Tacoma)
This guide contains links to online collections of primary sources on labor unions.
Labor Law (Harvard Law School Library)
This guide focuses on the laws that govern collective bargaining in both the private and public sectors.
Tamiment Library Research & Tools (NYU)
The Tamiment Library holds rich collections relating to:
- labor and social history,
- the history of the Left,
- the place of workers in American society, and
- the evolution of labor law
It also holds significant collections relating to women's history, immigrant history, and other topics.
10 Major Labor Strikes throughout U.S. History
This article from HISTORY provides a short overview and pictures of the ten most consequential labor strikes in U.S. history.
This site presents original sources held in Cornell University's ILR School's Kheel Center on the Triangle Factory Fire.
American Enterprise Exhibition (National Museum of American History)
How does American business affect you? How and why has it changed since the United States began? Come explore stories of business men and women who have changed the world. See hundreds of intriguing objects that illustrate transformations in society. Think about how Americans have mixed capitalism and democracy, in an effort to balance individual opportunity and the common good.
This article from the Illinois Labor History Society provides an overview of one of America's most notorious labor uprisings. It also provides a link to an online tour of Forest Park Cemetery, where the Haymarket Martyrs are buried.
ILR School (Cornell University)
As the preeminent educational institution in the world focused on work, employment, and labor, the School of Industrial and Labor Relations (ILR) generates and shares knowledge that improves the lives of workers and transforms the future of work.
National Child Labor Committee Collection (Library of Congress)
Working as an investigative photographer for the National Child Labor Committee (NCLC), Lewis Hine (1874-1940) documented working and living conditions of children in the United States between 1908 and 1924. The NCLC photos are useful for the study of labor, reform movements, children, working class families, education, public health, urban and rural housing conditions, industrial and agricultural sites, and other aspects of urban and rural life in America in the early twentieth century.
The collection consists of more than 5,100 photographic prints and 355 glass negatives, given to the Library of Congress, along with the NCLC records, in 1954 by Mrs. Gertrude Folks Zimand, acting for the NCLC in her capacity as chief executive.
National Labor Relations Board
The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency vested with the power to safeguard employees' rights to organize and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representative. The Board's website provides a substantial amount of information on its work. Highlights include:
The U.S. Department of Labor is responsible for administering federal laws governing labor, including wage standards, occupational safety, and unemployment benefits. The Department's website provides a substantial amount of information on its work. Highlights include: