Water Rights & Resources
This collection focuses on the various uses for water, from hydropower, to agriculture, to drinking water, and how increasing pressures on water supply from climate change exacerbates historical tensions over who has access to water for what purpose.
HeinOnline Specialist
Related HeinOnline Blog Posts
To see how our HeinOnline bloggers have used this database to research a better understanding of state and federal laws governing water, check out these blog posts:
- Forever Wild: The History of the Adirondack Park
New York State’s Adirondack Park is the largest state park outside of Alaska, consisting of six million acres of protected land in Upstate New York. Centering on the Adirondack Mountains, the park encompasses vast areas of forest, including some of the largest old growth forests East of the Mississippi, dotted with hundreds of glacial lakes. The balancing act between preservation and exploitation has been one of the defining characteristics of the park since its establishment in 1892. Keep reading, as we explore the history of the Adirondack Park
- It’s Getting Hot in Here: How Climate Change Impacts Labor & Water Rights
With deadly heatwaves blasting regions around the globe, 2023 is on track to become the hottest year on record. In the United States, this summer has featured a number of unusual weather phenomena—torrential flooding in Vermont and the Hudson Valley, dense wildfire smoke that tanked air quality in the Northeast and Midwest, and a 31-day streak of 110+ degree temperatures in Phoenix, to name just a few. The rising temperatures worldwide are largely thanks to climate change—and with the heat not going away any time soon, adaptations and considerations must be made to ensure survival.
- Arizona v. Navajo Nation: A Conflict of Water Rights
In a 5-4 decision,[1] the Supreme Court recently ruled against the Navajo Nation in the tribe’s request for the federal government to assess and meet their needs for water. The Navajo live in the arid Southwest, which has been suffering from long-term drought and the impacts of climate change—however, the Court’s decision determined that the U.S. government is not responsible for helping the Nation secure water access. Let’s take a deeper dive into this case, Arizona v. Navajo Nation, using resources within HeinOnline, including our Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law and Water Rights & Resources databases.
- Water Rights & Resources: Making a Splash
Last September, we announced our newest database, Water Rights & Resources, and since then this specialized database has been making a splash. Recently, Florida International University Librarian Gricel Dominguez broke down the content, usability, and pricing for this database in the Library Journal.
- New Database: Water Rights and Resources
The newest HeinOnline database is certainly making a splash. Water Rights & Resources, a brand-new collection of nearly 3,000 titles and more than 600,000 pages, is a highly editorialized database designed for understanding state and federal laws governing water. And anyone can dive in—this database is available for an affordable, one-time fee!