Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HeinOnline

Air and Space Law

This database covers the multitude of ways humans interact with and explore the earthly skies and distant reaches of outer space. Content in this database is separated into Suborbital Space and Orbital Space.

Additional Resources

Amelia Earhart Collection at Purdue University

The George Palmer Putnam Collection of Amelia Earhart Papers at Purdue University documents the personal life, aviation career, and business activities of pilot Amelia Earhart. The Papers are divided into seven series:

  • Flying Career, 1927-1938
  • Personal and Family Life, 1917-1937
  • Business Activities, 1928-1937
  • Photographs, 1897-1937
  • Scrapbooks, 1918-1939
  • Artifacts, ca. 1875; ca. 1926-1935
  • Oversized Materials, 1915-1937

Aviation Law Research Guide

This libguide from Georgetown Law Library is intended to facilitate research on aviation law in both primary and secondary materials.

Center for Air and Space Law

The University of Mississippi has been the premier U.S. platform for Air and Space Law since 1965.  It is the only ABA accredited law school to offer an LL.M. in Air and Space Law and six different classes focused on space law. Its Center features resources on its air law, cyber law, and space law programs, as well as its archive that contains the personal correspondence, manuscripts, and professional papers of individuals who dedicated their lives and careers to the development of air and space law.

Federal Aviation Administration

The official website for the Federal Aviation Administration.

Government Documents on Aviation

This libguide from Purduce University provides guidance on conducting aviation research using various government documents.

National Air and Space Museum

The Smithsonian's National Air and Space Museum maintains the world's largest and most significant collection of aviation and space artifacts, encompassing all aspects of human flight, as well as related works of art and archival materials. It operates two landmark facilities that, together, welcome more than eight million visitors a year, making it the most visited museum in the country. It also is home to the Center for Earth and Planetary Studies.

National Aviation Hall of Fame

Founded in 1962 and charted by an act of Congress in 1964, the purpose of the National Aviation Hall of Fame is to preserve and memorialize the outstanding accomplishments of enshrinees. The goal is to create a distinctive national aviation education resource that will inspire others to appreciate and honor this nation’s extraordinary aviation legacy and the men and women who created it. It is located in Dayton, OH.

Ninety-Nines Museum of Women Pilots

In 1929, The 99s, an international organization of women pilots, was established by 99 women pilots. The mission of this newly formed women's pilot organization is to promote the "advancement of aviation through education, scholarships, and mutual support while honoring our unique history and sharing our passion for flight." Its Museum of Women Pilots (MWP) opened in 1999. Through its displays and artifacts, the MWP is focused on preserving the history of women in aviation, and providing education and inspiration for young adults to enter the field of aviation and aerospace.

Regulation of the Aviation Industry

This libguide from Harvard Law School Library is designed to help researchers use resources from the Harvard Law School Library to research legal issues surrounding the regulation of the airline industry.

Transportation Security Administration

The official website for the Transportation Security Administration.

The Wright Brothers - National Park Service

The National Park Service's website for the Wright Brothers National Memorial at Kitty Hawk, NC. Learn about the history of the brothers' historic flight and the memorial through articles, photographs, and videos.

Apollo Missions

Learn about Project Apollo's goals and each mission's story at the Program's official NASA page.

Hubble Space Telescope Images

Explore images taken by the Hubble Space Telescope.

May the 4th: Space Law Resources on Westlaw Edge

This blog post provides information on the numerous space law resources found in Westlaw Edge.

Moonrise

“Moonrise,” a 13 episode podcast from the Washington Post, digs into the nuclear arms race of the Cold War, the transformation of American society and politics, and even the birth of science fiction, to unearth what really drove us to the moon. Listen to it on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, or wherever you prefer to listen.

NASA

The official website for NASA.

Outer Space Law

This libguide from the University of Connecticut School of Law provides resources for researching outer space law, including major treaties and conventions, and resources on specific space law topics, such as space mining, the Space Force, and the privatization of space.

Planetary Society

In 1980, Carl Sagan, Louis Friedman, and Bruce Murray founded The Planetary Society. They saw that there was enormous public interest in space, but that this interest was not reflected by government investment, as NASA’s budget was cut again and again.

Today, The Planetary Society continues this work, under the leadership of CEO Bill Nye, as the world’s largest and most influential non-profit space organization. The organization is supported by over 50,000 members in over 100 countries.

Project Blue Book at the National Archives

Project Blue Book was the code name for the United States Air Force's study of unidentified flying objects from 1947-1969. 12,618 sightings were reported to Project blue, of which 701 remain "unidentified." The Project's records were declassified and handed over to the National Archives for viewing by the public.

Space.com

Space.com is the premier source of space exploration, innovation and astronomy news, chronicling (and celebrating) humanity's ongoing expansion across the final frontier. We transport our visitors across the solar system and beyond through accessible, comprehensive coverage of the latest news and discoveries. For us, exploring space is as much about the journey as it is the destination. So from skywatching guides and stunning photos of the night sky to rocket launches and breaking news of robotic probes visiting other planets, at Space.com you'll find something amazing every day.

Space, Cyber, and Telecommunications Law at University of Nebraska College of Law

Since 2008, Nebraska Law has been the only law college in the nation to offer an LL.M. degree in space, cyber, and telecommunications law. The program offers annual conferences and is part of the Woomera Manual project, which seeks to develop a Manual that objectively articulates and clarifies existing international law applicable to military space operations.

Space Law

This research guide from the Peace Palace Library is intended as a starting point for research in the field of Space Law. It provides the basic materials available in the Peace Palace Library, both in print and electronic format. Handbooks, leading articles, bibliographies, periodicals, serial publications and documents of interest are presented in the Selective Bibliography section.

Space Law: The Law of Outer Space

This libguide from Georgetown Law Library provides an introduction to researching the law that governs outer space.

Space Law Bibliography

This bibliography from NASA HQ librarians provides a list of books, online reports, e-books, journals and websites useful in researching space law.

Space Law Research Guide

The Global Space Law Center at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law is the first U.S. law school research center dedicated exclusively to the study of the law of outer space.  This guide supports the research needs of students on the GSLC Research Council, enrolled in the GSLC Online Course, and studying space law.

Walt Disney and Space Exploration: 50 Years After Apollo 11

Learn about how Walt Disney used promotional television specials for Disneyland's Tomorrowland to collaborate with Wernher von Braun to explore the realities of human travel to the moon, a decade before Apollo 11.